macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Baxupia
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Aug 31st, 2012
    Need your help Matt! - Cubase 7
    Hi Matt, Love your Cubase tutorials - watched them all and I have learnt so much, would never have managed without these courses. However after watching them all; one thing eludes me! How to record the audio output of an external instrument without the need to do an audio mixdown. Sometimes when I record the midi from an external instrument I just want to create an audio track beneath the midi track at the same time. Now I have created an external instrument within my VST connections so that I can access all the patches of my external instrument and change the midi channel. I understand that I could just setup a stereo input connected to the audio out of my external synth but I don't set it up this way as using the external instrument in the vst connections window provides greater control and treats the external instrument like a vst. I have read somewhere that you can use a group track to route the audio output generated from the midi track to an audio track but I simply cannot get it to work. To me it seems like a simple function, I want to be able to record midi sometimes and audio straight from the synth at other times but it seems very complicated in cubase. Could you help me by outlining the steps necessary to get this to work if it's possible. Keep up the good work. Alan.
    Reply
  • MattLTH
    Posts: 32
    Joined: Apr 3rd, 2009
    Re: Need your help Matt! - Cubase 7
    Alan, I think all you need to do is create a stereo audio track and assign it's input to either the stereo input channel you've created in the VST Connections/Inputs tab, or the input connection you've made in the External Instruments tab. That way, you can record enable both the MIDI track and the Audio Track to capture the audio and the MIDI simultaneously. I'll try to attach some images of the setup later today. I'm not quite sure what you'd get the Group Channel method. From how you've described it, it sounds impossible.
    Reply
  • MattLTH
    Posts: 32
    Joined: Apr 3rd, 2009
    Re: Need your help Matt! - Cubase 7
    OK, here's how to do it. It involves re-routing the inputs in the External Instruments tab. Why? Because the External Instruments window was created to allow hardware synths to be 'always monitor enabled.' That way you can listen to their outputs while you're recording the MIDI tracks. But whenever you need to record those outputs onto an audio track, the VST Connection needs to be re-routed. Normally you'd set up an instrument like this: [url=http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/files/mpv_43355_93591_Screen_Shot_2013-10-22_at_9.34.36_AM.png] [img]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/thumbnails/mpv_43355_93591_Screen_Shot_2013-10-22_at_9.34.36_AM.png[/img] [/url] In the situation above, I could monitor my Slim Phatty's outputs while I was recording the MIDI tracks. But when I need to record those outputs onto an Audio track, I have to go to the Inputs tab and route a stereo input to the same audio interface input ports to which the synth is attached: [url=http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/files/mpv_43355_93591_Screen_Shot_2013-10-22_at_9.35.16_AM.png] [img]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/thumbnails/mpv_43355_93591_Screen_Shot_2013-10-22_at_9.35.16_AM.png[/img] [/url] Notice how I assigned Stereo Input 2 to the same ports as the first figure. When you do this, you'll get a warning that you're breaking a connection, which is the input port assignment you made in the External Instruments tab. That's OK, because you'll reestablish the monitoring in the next step. Finally, you'll create a MIDI track and an Audio track, the latter of which you will assign to the same input (in my example, Stereo Input 2) as you defined in the VST Connections Input tab: [url=http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/files/mpv_43355_93591_Screen_Shot_2013-10-22_at_9.35.38_AM.png] [img]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/thumbnails/mpv_43355_93591_Screen_Shot_2013-10-22_at_9.35.38_AM.png[/img] [/url] Make sure both the MIDI and associated Audio track are record-enabled and that the monitor button for the Audio track is on. That way you'll be able to hear the synth whether you're recording or not, and you'll be able to record the MIDI track and associated Audio track simultaneously. MattLTH
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Subscribe to receive an email for each new post on this thread. Please login
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: