Forums
This thread relates to...
GarageBand 101
Absolute Beginner's Guide
by: Vanacoro
More Info
  • Student492426
    Re: Help on getting the keyboard to play
    Joe, I wasn't using a microphone, I basically just connected it straight into the audio interface. I already have a specific kind of microphone that is used in connecting the microphone with the amplifier. The microphone is the mtp, 440 dm from the lewitt company. I will connect it with the amplifier that I use for my electric guitar. I just haven't done it yet. When you talk about using line or instrument, I am not sure which one I am using. How do I determine that? How do I make it on instrument. Thanks so much again. I will look into those videos.
  • Joe A
    Ok, if you're using a direct connection [1/4" cable] from a pickup in an acoustic guitar, that won't provide the same kind of nice, rich, open acoustic guitar sound that you'd get by recording an acoustic guitar with a decent mic. An acoustic guitar's onboard pickup is more suitable for live amplification [through a PA system] than for recording, where a mic is always preferred. But it's common to plug an electric guitar [or bass] straight into the interface [as opposed to miking up a guitar amp] -- in that case you'd want to use an Instrument input, which should be a 1/4" jack on the interface labelled either Instrument or Inst or sometimes Hi-Z.
  • Student492426
    I am not using an acoustic guitar, but an electric guitar. The wire is being plugged into 1L. There is a button below it called Hi-Z. I was told that that button always has to be on while recording on GarageBand. Is that instrument, you were talking about? If thats the case, then there isn't a way to get a better sound, apart from setting up a mic onto the amplifier.
  • Joe A