macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Renof87
    Using Garageband with Reason (Rewire question)
    Using Garageband with Reason 4.0.......... Hi. I'm a long time Garageband user, but I'm a little new to running it with Reason or any other program for that matter. I know how to put Reason into Rewire mode so it acts as slave to Garageband, but is there a way to make Reason the master? I'm not even sure if it's something that you would want to do. Basically, I really like the mixing control given to you in Reason. It's seems like quite a step up from Garageband's mixing controls. I want to take my project I created in Garageband, and put on the finishing touches in Reason. Can this be done? With Reason as slave, all I can do is control the play/stop/rewind/ffw inside of Reason. It's makes it feel pointless to even use Reason. So is there a way to do this? P.S. Is there any way to export a project from Garageband into Reason? Even as an mp3?
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Using Garageband with Reason (...
    Hi Renof87, I believe that GB must be the rewire host. I understand what you mean as GB does not have a fully fledged Mixer View. An app like Logic or Ableton Live would serve as a better Master to Reason than GB. To export an entire project from GB go to Share and export it as Aiff/wave/mp3 etc. If you want to export individual tracks to Reason then you'll need to solo a track and choose Share... Then you should be able to import the file(s) into Reasons Sampler. It sounds like you are getting into territory beyond GB, in which case I would recommend checking out Logic. Hope that helps Rounik
  • Renof87
    Then what's the point of running Reason and Garageband together? Anyways, I will definitely give Logic a go. I've heard many good things about it.
  • Rounik Admin