macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Busodeo
    Posts: 15
    Joined: Feb 15th, 2007, 09:55
    Problem Indexing Apple Loops
    Hi, Im having a little trouble with apple loops. When i installed logic studio i chose to install the apple loops on an external hard drive. This created two folders on the external drive called Apple Loops for Soundtrack Pro & Jam Packs. When i started Logic the Soundtrack Pro loops did not appear in the loop browser so i dragged the sub-folders in the Apple Loops for Soundtrack Pro folder from a finder window into the loop browser to index them. When the indexing process was finished the Soundtrack Pro loops sub-folders showed up under the Other section of the view menu in the loop browser. Should these not be in a separate section in the view menu like the Jam Packs are? I then deleted the index files and indexed all my loops again to see if this would fix the problem but now my Soundtrack Pro and Jam Pack loops show up under the Other section of the view menu. Can someone please tell me how i can fix it so that the Jam Packs and Soundtrack Pro loops appear in there own sections in the view menu of the loop browser? Also, is it possible to move the apple loops for GarageBand folder to an external hard drive and still have them show up in the GarageBand section of the view menu in the loop browser? Please help.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Problem Indexing Apple Loops
    [quote:10523]Also, is it possible to move the apple loops for GarageBand folder to an external hard drive and still have them show up in the GarageBand section of the view menu in the loop browser? Please help.[/quote] Hi David, when you move content or settings from where Logic looks for them by default always create an alias and place it in the default location. If you need any help on doing that let us know. Thanks Rounik
    Reply
  • Busodeo
    Posts: 15
    Joined: Feb 15th, 2007, 09:55
    Re: Problem Indexing Apple Loops
    Thanks for your help Rounik. So when i move the loops to the external drive do i drag this folder over the loop browser to index them or do i drag the alias which i created in the default location? Any ideas on the first part of my original question?
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Problem Indexing Apple Loops
    Hi David, In theory you shouldn't have to re-index them if you move them and create an alias to the new location. However, I can't test that out and would recommend trying that out first before attempting to re-index the loops. I'm not certain on the first part of your question. Hope someone else can add their experience to this thread... Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Problem Indexing Apple Loops
    [quote:10523]When the indexing process was finished the Soundtrack Pro loops sub-folders showed up under the Other section of the view menu in the loop browser. Should these not be in a separate section in the view menu like the Jam Packs are? [/quote] When you dragged the loops into Logic's Loop browser, the appleloops were copied into your home folder under this path : ~/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/User Loops. All loops that are located under this path will be available in the Other section of the Browser. For a loop pack to appear in the main section of the Browser it needs to be located under either one of these 2 paths (Not in your Home folder) : HD/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/Apple HD/Application Support/GarageBand/Apple Loops If you want them to appear in the main section of the Browser, you could try to copy the loop pack folder to HD/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/App and then reindex you appleloops. I explained how to reindex appleloops in this thread : [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/logic/logic-pro-express&id=7914&sid=#7920[/url] Christian
    Reply
  • Busodeo
    Posts: 15
    Joined: Feb 15th, 2007, 09:55
    Re: Problem Indexing Apple Loops
    Hi Christian, Thanks for writing back. I was hoping to find a way of doing this but still keep all the loops on an external drive. I tried using aliases of these folders and putting them in the locations you said, then drag them to the loop browser but it wont accept aliases. I don't have enough space on my Macintosh HD to keep the loops there but i would also like to have the loops sorted by loop pack in the view menu. When installing Logic Studio i chose to install all loops on an external drive and im pretty sure they were sorted by loop pack then, until i deleted the index files. Now i cant get them back in there original order.
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Problem Indexing Apple Loops
    Hi DavidB, This is an interesting question that comes back quite often. Unfortunately, I don't have a definitive answer for it. I know that using aliases can sometimes work but I never tried it myself. There's quite a few thread about this on the Apple Discussion forum. Here's some link that could be of interest to you : [url]http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1130744&tstart=60[/url] [url]http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1226375&tstart=15[/url] [url]http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=5968683&#5968683[/url] [url]http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=5636399&#5636399[/url] By the way, If you organize your loop pack into folders in ~/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/User Loops and reindex your loops, the folder names will appear under "Other" in Logic's loop Browser. And please do let us know if you find a way to store your appleloops on an external Hard Drive. Christian
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: