macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Surround output matrix in the environment
    You need a multi-channel audio interface to play back and bounce to the surround format. For example if you're using an interface with 6 output channels you could create a 5.1 surround sound system with 5 speakers/monitors and a sub woofer. With built-in audio (stereo) it's not possible to properly playback more than two channels. Here's a link to Apple's specifications for Logic/STP and the Surround specifications: [url]http://www.apple.com/au/logicstudio/logicpro/specs.html[/url] If you need any more help, do let us know. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • gc104
    Posts: 13
    Joined: Jul 14th, 2007, 11:08
    Re: Surround output matrix in the environment
    Thanks Rounik, I believe you are correct. Please, would this Griffin product be appropriate? http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370052052033 Thanks, Gary
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Surround output matrix in the environment
    [quote:19169]Please, would this Griffin product be appropriate? http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370052052033 [/quote] It should be ok. But, I've never used a product like this with Logic. Some things to bear in mind before purchasing an audio interface are whether you need any inputs. I think the Grifin has no inputs. For example if you want to connect a guitar, a microphone etc you'll need 1/4" connectors and better an XLR connection. If you want to connect turntables or any device like this then you'll also need inputs too. Here's a couple of threads about Audio Interfaces: [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/logic/logic-pro-express&id=6754&sid=#6775[/url] [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/logic/logic-pro-express&id=8195&sid=#8226[/url] There are plenty more, do use the search function at the top of the page, and of course if you need more help let us know. Rounik
    Reply
  • gc104
    Posts: 13
    Joined: Jul 14th, 2007, 11:08
    Re: Surround output matrix in the environment
    Thank you again for your assistance. My situation is that I teach music and have an 18 station music lab. Most of the computers use logic pro 8. I had wanted to work with surround sound. The only inputs that will be used are those coming directly from Logic. We rarely use inputs other than audio software instruments played from a MIDI controller keybaord. Does this necessitate need a firewire soundcard with physical inputs? Thanks, Gary
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Surround output matrix in the environment
    Hi Gary, If you're never going to use a guitar or microphone then you may never need an audio interface that offers these input options. Do you need all mac's to work with surround sound simultaneously? If so you will need surround sound speakers for each mac. The most important thing to consider for an audio interface in this case is the number of outputs. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: