macProVideo.com
Forums
  • dynamicalan
    Posts: 330
    Joined: Nov 25th, 2007, 01:33
    Re: Sending audio through the ES 2
    Rounik, thanks. I am glad You like it. I put it up there to demonstrate how to use reversing an audio file in conjunction with side chaining an ES 2 for other peoples benefit, but I think I will take it down. I was thinking of putting it on the end of the Mixing Electronica song "some Track" contest because it gives contrast but adding material may not be what they are looking for. As far as the Mixing contest I was thinking of purchasing the Tutorial mixing Electronica so to have a better chance. Sincerely, Alan
    Reply
  • dynamicalan
    Posts: 330
    Joined: Nov 25th, 2007, 01:33
    Re: Sending audio through the ES 2
    Rounik, I think I got it figured out. Sense all software instruments are made up of audio Samples, any audio file can be a note on an instrument so the only problem would be to know what the file format to change an aif file into to import into the ES 2 unless it's not possible to import a sample into the ES 2. So is it possible to add to the ES 2 library? Thanks, Alan
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Sending audio through the ES 2
    [quote:34022]Rounik, Since all software instruments are made up of audio Samples, [/quote] Hi Alan, No. There's a big difference between synthesizers and samplers. Steve H. can give a much better explanation, but here's my 101: A synthesizer creates the sound using a sound generators (oscillators, noise etc). The sounds created do NOT come from real audio sound - it's created within the instrument. A sampler plays back (and can change the characteristics) of a real sound sample (e.g. an aiff/wave audio file). The ES2 is not a sampler, it's a synth - so there's no way to load a sound file as the source audio signal. Ultrabeat is both a synthesis and sample instrument which means you can do some quite interesting things. Sculpture is a modeling synth, which essentially emulates the sound of a string being excited in a number of different and dynamic ways. I don't think I have done the theory behind "what synthesis is" much good with the above explanation - but basically the ES2 can't load audio files into it as it creates sound using it's oscillators wave patterns. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • dynamicalan
    Posts: 330
    Joined: Nov 25th, 2007, 01:33
    Re: Sending audio through the ES 2
    Rounik, so is it correct to say the sound is created by the Oscillator no file is there? Therefore the only work around is to drag it in as a midi region. You can do pitch to midi but if you want to do that with chords you really have to figure out how to separate the file into individual tones each on a different tracks. Have you experimented with doing that with audio? Thanks, Alan
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Sending audio through the ES 2
    [quote:34022]Rounik, so is it correct to say the sound is created by the Oscillator no file is there? [/quote] Yes! [quote:34022]Therefore the only work around is to drag it in as a midi region [/quote] where are you trying to drag the MIDI region? The MIDI region with notes events only trigger notes in the ES2. A MIDI region's contents will only work by dragging it onto a Software Inst. Track. [quote:34022] You can do pitch to midi but if you want to do that with chords you really have to figure out how to separate the file into individual tones each on a different tracks. [/quote] What effect are you trying to achieve? A pitchbend? Or to transpose a chord of say a guitar - this can be done by converting an audio file into an apple loop. [quote:34022] Have you experimented with doing that with audio? [/quote] If you mean transposing a chord up or down by small amounts...yes! (Apple Loops/Rex etc). If you mean separating 3 notes of a chord into separate audio tracks and changing the individual notes to create a different chord.... No. But check out melodyne, i think that does the job well. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • dynamicalan
    Posts: 330
    Joined: Nov 25th, 2007, 01:33
    Re: Sending audio through the ES 2
    Rounik, it could be a better method to simulate a audio channel strip to get the effect the filter circuit would give. However, as experimentation goes; I would like to see if dividing a chordal section into individual tracks and then merging them back together to plug into the ES 2 would sound. However, I really don't think the Logs used to configure audio to midi would really do it very well. I was only just curious to see if that would work from your experiences. Thanks, Alan
    Reply
  • dynamicalan
    Posts: 330
    Joined: Nov 25th, 2007, 01:33
    Re: Sending audio through the ES 2
    [quote:7638][quote:34022]Rounik, so is it correct to say the sound is created by the Oscillator no file is there? [/quote] Yes! [quote:34022]Therefore the only work around is to drag it in as a midi region [/quote] where are you trying to drag the MIDI region? Hello, I was trying to drag the region to a software instrument track one that has an instance of the ES 2 loaded in. The MIDI region with notes events only trigger notes in the ES2. A MIDI region's contents will only work by dragging it onto a Software Inst. Track. [quote:34022] You can do pitch to midi but if you want to do that with chords you really have to figure out how to separate the file into individual tones each on a different tracks. [/quote] What effect are you trying to achieve? A pitchbend? Or to transpose a chord of say a guitar - this can be done by converting an audio file into an apple loop. With the Apple Loop you can transpose pitch however, the octave is undefinable, meaning you get the pitch but the octave is determined by the Apple Loops Utility. All this being said you still loose the nuances of the audio file. The chords we are talking about bass chords and are much more than simple chords. I would have to send you a chord sample explain what that means. [quote:34022] Have you experimented with doing that with audio? [/quote] If you mean transposing a chord up or down by small amounts...yes! (Apple Loops/Rex etc). If you mean separating 3 notes of a chord into separate audio tracks and changing the individual notes to create a different chord.... No. But check out melodyne, i think that does the job well. I agree Melodyne would be simpler than working on it in the frequency view inside Soundtrack pro 2. Cheers, Alan Cheers Rounik [/quote]
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: