macProVideo.com
Forums
  • JROD
    Guitar sample key chang
    I'm a novice experimenting with Midi samples of acoustic guitar strums. I'm constructing a tune and would like to make a chord change in the arrangement. I figured it out in Garageband but now we're using Logic Express. Say I'm in the key of C and want to add an F and a G chord to my progression. How do I add those chords without changing the entire key of the piece. Thanks for the assist -
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Guitar sample key chang
    Hi, click on the global tracks disclosure arrow. Select signature. Use the pencil tool to create a signature change. Select the Key you want from the drop down menu. Cheers Rounik
  • JROD
    Re: Guitar sample key change
    Goodmorning Rounik, Thanks for the reply but.... I'm not trying to change the key of the entire piece, I'm just trying to make a chord change in the guitar sample. I'm in the key of "C" and want to stay there. Say for example, after four bars I want the chord to change to an "F" and then to "G." I followed your instructions and see that I've changed the key of the piece but the original guitar sample is still on the tonic note ("C"). Maybe I should be looking in the MIDI editor. The guitar sample is MIDI. Again, my goal is not to change the key of the composition but to change the chord within the composition.
  • Rounik Admin
    Good evening (UK) ;-) OK. There are a few different ways to do this. if your guitar sample chord is in a separate region you can adjust the Transposition in the Inspector window... Easier and more visual: double click on the region with the chord you wanna transpose. The piano roll opens, select the notes you wish to change and drag them where you wish. Is that what you would like to do? Cheers Rounik
  • JROD