macProVideo.com
Forums
  • chasiubau23
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Jun 18th, 2008, 09:05
    Help with Yamaha DD-55 Midi Setup
    I bought Logic Studio a few months ago to record my band's demo's. I have a Yamaha DD-55 Electronic Drum Set and would like to use it as a midi controller for the drum kits in Logic or Garageband. Can anyone give me some step-by-step instructions on how I can get that setup. I thought it would be just plug and play like all the Line6 stuff I use. I'm a total midi noob so any help would be appreciated. Here's a list of my equipment: 1 - EMU X-Midi 1x1 USB interface 1 - Yamaha DD-55 1 - Line6 KB37 1 - Line6 Pod XT Live
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Help with Yamaha DD-55 Midi Setup
    Hi and welcome to the forums! Here's a few tips : 1-The EMU X-Midi USB Interface doesn't need any drivers so you just need to connect it to your Mac. 2-Connect the DD-55 MIDI out to the EMU MIDI in. Connect the DD-55 MIDI in to the EMU MIDI out. 3-Load up a drum kit in Logic. 4-If you don't have a copy, download the DD-55 manual here : [url]http://www.yamaha.com/yamahavgn/CDA/ContentDetail/ModelSeriesDetail/0,,CNTID%25253D2260%252526CTID%25253D208400%252526RLTID%25253D590%252526DETYP%25253DRELATION%252526LGFL%25253DY,00.html[/url] 5-If you don't want the sounds of the DD-55 to play, you will need to turn the Local parameter to off. See page 26 of the manual for more details. 6-You will need to assign a Channel # and a MIDI note for each pad of your DD-55. You will want them to match the notes of your Logic drum kit. Check pages 27-28 for more details. I hope my tips will be helpful to you! Christian
    Reply
  • chasiubau23
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Jun 18th, 2008, 09:05
    Re: Help with Yamaha DD-55 Midi Setup
    Christian, It almost sounds too easy... I'll give this a try and let you know how it goes. Thanks.
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Help with Yamaha DD-55 Midi Setup
    Cool! Let me know...
    Reply
  • Andrew Y.
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Apr 5th, 2012, 04:55
    Re: Help with Yamaha DD-55 Midi Setup
    I am trying to set up my yamaha dd-55 using the same usb midi device but can't get it to work, can you elaborate on how to do it please? I'm using logic studio 9.
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007, 12:54
    Re: Help with Yamaha DD-55 Midi Setup
    Hi Andrew, Can you please give us some more details on your setup? The Mac OS? Version of Logic? Does the EMU X-Midi USB Interface show up under your MIDI devices in the Audio MIDI Setup (Applications > Utilities)
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: