macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Deepgroove
    Recording Guitar in Logic Pro 8
    Hi, I have been trying to record live guitar in Logic, using a Behringer UCG102 Interface. The delay time between plucking the strings and hearing the audio - either through headphones or my speakers is at least half a second. I'm quite new to all this and wondered if this is the norm or can it be sorted? Any help would be appreciated ! Thanks
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Recording Guitar in Logic Pro 8
    Hi Deep Groove, Welcome to the MacProVideo forums. The term you're referring to is called "latency". (the difference in time between when you create a sound signal and when you hear it back through your monitoring system). There are a few things you can do to reduce the latency: go to Logic Pro > Preferences > Audio [Devices] In the Core Audio tab you'll see a pop down menu for I/O Buffer Size. It's worth experimenting with the settings here bearing the following in mind: - Lower buffer size setting = less latency but more strain on your mac's cpu. - Higher buffer size = less strain on your cpu (thus better for mixing). Generally a buffer size of 64 to 128 is ok for most people, but do try 32. If your system struggles to playback - or you get error messages, consider taking away any latency inducing plug-ins on your audio track (e.g. limiter, adlimiter, reverb etc) If you don't want to hear any of the built-in effects while recording uncheck "Software monitoring". Let us know how you get on. The Logic 101: Core Logic 8 Tutorial is a really really excellent place to start if you're starting out in Logic: [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/tutorial/Logic8101[/url] You can read more about it and view some preview vid's on the above link. Cheers Rounik
  • Deepgroove
    Re: Recording Guitar in Logic Pro 8
    Hey thanks alot for the help, I'll let you know how it goes. Oh I guess I should have said that I'm running a 2.16GHz Intel iMac with 2.5GB of RAM. Cheers