macProVideo.com
Forums
  • SJKukla
    Posts: 52
    Joined: May 31st, 2007, 03:25
    Easily transfer plugins and settings between channel strips
    Perhaps this is common knowledge, but it's something I've found pretty useful, and I thought I'd drop a post to let folks know about it: Say you have a channel strip with plugins, and you want to transfer one of those plugins to another channel strip so the two tracks have a similar sound. You could simply use the 'Copy channel strip setting' and then paste that setting on the desired channel strip. But, what if you want to copy just a few plugins instead of the whole strip? Here's how: 1. Press and hold option+cmd 2. Click and hold the plugin to move. (You can then let go of option+cmd) 3. Drag the plugin to an empty slot on the new channel strip and let go. And there you go, plugin transferred! Also note that if you want to move one plugin from one channel strip to another without copying it, just hold option, click and hold the plugin, and drag it on over. Hope this is useful. It's a small thing, but it may save you some time. Steve K
    Reply
  • Bj
    Posts: 293
    Joined: Sep 19th, 2007, 01:27
    Re: Easily transfer plugins and settings between channel strips
    Hi Steve, Thanks for option+cmd tip on copying plugins, very cool... But with transferring I think it's hold 'cmd' not 'option' when you click and drag... Cheers, Bj
    Reply
  • SJKukla
    Posts: 52
    Joined: May 31st, 2007, 03:25
    Re: Easily transfer plugins and settings between channel strips
    Yup, you're definitely right. I guess I still get those two confused sometimes. :) Thanks for catching that. S.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Easily transfer plugins and settings between channel strips
    Hi Guys! Great tips. Here's another one to add. IT'S unfortunate that in the Environment Mixer layer you can't move plug-ins around a channel strip... or can you? Well, you can't copy them between channel strips definitely, but if you set the secondary (cmd) mouse tool as the pointer tool, holding down Cmd, you can move the plug-ins from one insert slot to another. I normally use the Mixer window to move plug-ins around but this is a useful tip if you're spending time Mixing in the Environment. :-) Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: