macProVideo.com
Forums
  • BrooklynMike
    Where to get basic information
    I'm just getting into Logic, trying to just jump in recording music, messing with instruments, etc. All the tutorial sources I've encountered seem to assume a basic familiarity with digital audio I don't have. For example, I don't know what a 'bounce' is, and can't find an explaination in the user guide or tutorials... they assume you know. That is just one example. is there a basic glossary or "Digital Audio for REAL Dummies" I can consult to get this basic level of familiarity?
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Where to get basic information
    Hi Mike, Welcome to macProVideo forums :-) Do you already have the Logic 101: Core Logic 8 tutorial? [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/tutorial/Logic8101[/url] It really is a great source of info on Logic 8 and does start by explaining and demonstrating some digital audio basics: waveforms, amplitude, frequency, sample rates. Concepts like Bouncing are explained in detail in chapter 105 "Setting up to Bounce". Basically, Bouncing is a way of rendering whatever you have created on a track in Logic to an audio file that can be played within or outside of Logic. Often, when you've created and mixed a song in Logic with say 10 tracks, you'll want to output these 10 tracks from Logic so you can share or distribute the song... Well, that's where bouncing comes in. You'll need to Bounce your project into a single audio file so that others can listen to it via iTunes, or on CD for example. But hey, feel free to ask anything you need to on these forums. That's what we're here for :-D I would say, everyone at some point starts at the beginning... and it can be a daunting place to be. IMHO, asking questions, going through and searching the Logic 101 tutorial, exploring Logic and reading others' posts and the Getting started guide that comes with Logic will all help you become more familiar and comfortable with Logic and digital audio. Cheers Rounik
  • Humble Tafari