macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Brother John
    Overdubbing Midi Performances
    I know this is a silly sounding issue, but for some reason it is really tripping me up. Say I am buildng a 4 bar midi drum performance and I record a kick/snare pattern. When I go back to add a hat & shaker part, how can I make it so Logic simply adds the new perf data to the existing region without creating a new region which "covers up" the kick/snare part? Ditto if I then want to add, say, a crash or sidestick etc...? Thanks for the help!
  • Jehubyi
    Re: Overdubbing Midi Performances
    Hi Brother John, How ya doin? Well, I'm no expert on MIDI myself, but I do use it a lot and am still learning myself, but I think if you click on the REGION in the arrange area where the MIDI performance is, make sure you have the REGION SELECTED/CLICKED, then hit the COMMAND (6) selection, which will open the Piano Roll window, not the piano roll from the arrange but the Piano Roll window, and I believe you will see the pre-existing MIDI data that you made yourself. I think you can just add new MIDI data onto that selected region within the Piano Roll window. If I ain't right, then we gotta wait for the Rounik-meister:) He knows his MIDI:) Hope that helps. Jodie
  • Rounik Admin
    Hi Brother John & Jodie, Logic does allow you merge the MIDI recordings into one region... Choose: File > Project settings > Recording Choose "Merge with selected regions" from the "Overlapping MIDI recording" menu. Thanks guys, Rounik
  • Jehubyi
    Heh Rounik and Brother John, See Brother John; I told ya Rounik is the MIDI-Man:) Thanks Rounik:) You ROCK! Jodie
  • Brother John
    Thanks guys!
  • Rounik Admin