macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Zonivue
    David Isaac Tutorial - Drums Mixing Question
    Hi Guys, (apologies for the long post) I've bought and viewed the Mixing R&B Tutorial by David ISaac - pretty good, some good hints and work flow advice. A quick question, when he was mixing the drums, none of them had any Mic bleed on them? (although the snare had the tail of the hats) [b]Q1)[/b] My question is about how he/they cleaned them up? I'm quite new to it, and i'm so far using: - Cut Silence across the kick drum (although i then have to pass over the outputted regions as some snare hits get through and some double kicks don't get through) - i try to use a noise gate on the hi hats, - and if possble i cut silence on the snare, but again i loose a few softer hits and snare rolls So does does anyone have any advice or reference material of what they get from a "professionally recorded" drum kit? [b]Q2) [/b]Also I noticed he used nearly no compression across the tracks? Were the drum stems he used already compressed OR do people usually work with no compressors across the drums and tracks, and only use compression at the premastering stage? or across the main outputs to get a slightly louder/hotter signal? Sorry for the long post, just a few questions I hope more seasoned engineers/producers can answer. Cheers Ket
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: David Isaac Tutorial - Drums Mixing Question
    Hi Ket, Welcome to the forums & glad you're enjoying the tutorial! I'm sorry, I can't answer your questions well, but I expect some good mics and noise gates and strip silence techniques are all used for the drums in Q1. As for Q2, I have no idea about the compression David Isaac used, but it does sound like the drums were well balanced before the Mixing stage. I think it depends on the style of music and equipment used as to how you use compression on the drums. But, I'd love to hear form some pro's on their compression & drums techniques too :-) Cheers Rounik
  • AbbeyRhodes