macProVideo.com
Forums
  • sealion
    audio monitoring - why is there no sound?
    I'm new to Logic and I'm having some basic difficulties. I usually monitor through headphones out of the back of the computer. As soon as I plug in the firewire of my analog to digital device (Presonus), Logic goes completely silent. Sound no longer comes out of the "headphones out" - not the other audio tracks that have already been recorded or software instrument tracks. I can only monitor by plugging headphones into the Presonus even though the computer's Preferences > Sound > Output is set for the internal speakers (not the Presonus), and I've clicked on "software monitoring", "input monitoring" in Logic. I hope there's some "internal speakers monitor" option somewhere. Many thanks for help in this regard.
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: audio monitoring - why is there no sound?
    Hi Sealion, & welcome to the forums ;-) This is normal behaviour in Logic. If you set your audio device (in Logic) as the presonus then all audio will come in and out through the Presonus regardless of your sound System Preferences in OS X. The way around this (if you want to combine audio interfaces, e.g. use the audio in from the internal Mac sound card and the audio out from the Presonus or vice versa) is to create an "Aggregate device". BTW, why do you want to monitor your audio from your Mac's sound card and not the Presonus? Here is a link to the Apple knowledge base article on how to create an Aggregate device: [url]http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1215[/url] Cheers Rounik
  • Zihymua