macProVideo.com
Forums
  • definfected
    Posts: 41
    Joined: Nov 5th, 2008, 12:09
    Transfer projects
    Is it at all possible to transfer a project in Logic 8 from one computer to another? Does the other computer need to have the same instruments installed? Thanks.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Transfer projects
    Hi, Yes, you can! You will need the same 3rd party plugins and instruments if those tracks have not been bounced to audio. File > Save... Choose the advanced options and make sure you are saving all associated audiofiles & samples etc used by the project in the project folder. Now you can just transfer the project folder to another mac running the same version of Logic. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • definfected
    Posts: 41
    Joined: Nov 5th, 2008, 12:09
    Re: Transfer projects
    So will all the instruments be saved as audio tracks? Then can I manipulate them once they're on the other computer? Thanks.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Transfer projects
    Many producers convert their tracks to audio to begin mixing... it's not a hard and fast rule, but it's typical. Logic will not save your instrument tracks as audio unless you specify this is what you want. If you have NOT drawn volume and pan automation on tracks, then you can select: File > Export > Export all tracks as audio (This will export all tracks in the Arrange area to audio tracks) If you want to export them to audio individually solo a track, set the locators: File > Bounce... (click on add to audio bin if you need to quickly add the audio tracks back into your project). Once you have audio regions on audio tracks in Logic you can make some changes to the sound... but it's not as flexible as manipulating MIDI regions or software instruments. for example, changing a note's pitch on a MIDI region is a simple task in the Piano Roll. Not as simple on audio regions! The moral of the story ;) is to find out whether the other Mac has the same plug-ins and instruments you are using. If you are using plug-ins bundled with Logic Studio, then any other Logic Studio user will have access to the same instruments and plug-ins. The only issue will occur if you are using 3rd party plug-ins on some tracks (in which case bounce those tracks to audio) and your own samples and audio files (in which case save these to your project folder). Cheers Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: