macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Jehubyi
    Posts: 376
    Joined: Feb 10th, 2008, 01:44
    MIDI Clock Synchronization
    Heh Rounik, mpv-heads, I hooked up with another MIDI keyboard player today, which was awesome; we're gonna form a 2-man band playing our MIDI keyboards and both of us drumming live:) Sweet:), and he wanted me to ask you, "Can we synchronize a concert in Mainstage with an external MIDI clock?". Thanks guys. Jodie
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: MIDI Clock Synchronization
    Hey Jodie, Yes, I believe you can. I've not tried this out. You can definitely use Logic to do this though :) Rounik
    Reply
  • Jehubyi
    Posts: 376
    Joined: Feb 10th, 2008, 01:44
    Re: MIDI Clock Synchronization
    Heh Rounik, OK, so it is possible in Logic, so how do I do that? And you're saying it's possible in Mainstage, but you've never tried it out, so who do you think I should ask next? Thanks man. Jodie
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: MIDI Clock Synchronization
    Hi jodie, What do you want to sync to Logic? Actually, I should clarify my previous response Logic can act as the MIDI Sync Master - but not as the slave. What are you trying to do here exactly? You can check out the sync settings: Logic Pro > Preferences > MIDI [Sync] Project's sync settings: File > Project Settings > Synchronization HTH Rounik
    Reply
  • Jehubyi
    Posts: 376
    Joined: Feb 10th, 2008, 01:44
    Re: MIDI Clock Synchronization
    Heh Rounik, What we ultimately want to do is use Mainstage to act as the Master Clock for another external MIDI device (a pc that is running Ableton Live). In Logic we found out how to transmit MIDI messages to the external device, namely by using an external MIDI track from Logic, but even in Logic we weren't able to transmit the MIDI Clock (though of course we had turned on transmit MIDI Clock in Logic's MIDI settings and selected the right interface). But in Mainstage we are absolutely lost as to how we might accomplish this feat:( The MIDI routing is as follows: MacBook running Mainstage>USB>M-Audio Fast Track Pro>MIDI Out>MIDI In on CME VX6 (an external MIDI keyboard)>USB>Ableton Live pc. Please help us Rounik:) We are desperate! How should we proceed???? Thanks man. Jodie
    Reply
  • Jehubyi
    Posts: 376
    Joined: Feb 10th, 2008, 01:44
    Re: MIDI Clock Synchronization
    Rounik, It's us (me & my MIDI keyboard player) again. We managed to solve the above problem. We discovered that the MIDI keyboard in the chain was unable to transmit MIDI Clock messages, so by changing the routing as follows, we managed to synchronize the Ableton Live pc with the Logic MacBook pc: Routing: MacBook>USB>PCR-300>MIDI Out>Midi In>M-Audio Fast Track Pro>USB>Ableton Live pc. So, we have managed to sync with Logic, but how about with Mainstage???? Is it possible???? Thanks again buddy. Jodie
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: MIDI Clock Synchronization
    Hi Jodie, It's not something I can test out here. I'm aware that if you select the Concert in the Concert Inspector's Inspector you can set "Get tempo from MIDI Input" to On. However, AFAIK, Mainstage will not sync to incoming midi clock nor send it out. If Abelton was running on a Mac then using the IAC might help: [url]http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?t=86976&highlight=mainstage[/url] I think using Logic and Live might be the way to go for now. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Jehubyi
    Posts: 376
    Joined: Feb 10th, 2008, 01:44
    Re: MIDI Clock Synchronization
    Heh Rounik, Thanks for the info. Why won't Mainstage sync to incoming midi clock or send it out? Can you somehow test it out for me? PPPPLLLEEEEAAAASSSSEEEEE:) Thanks man. Jodie
    Reply
  • Jehubyi
    Posts: 376
    Joined: Feb 10th, 2008, 01:44
    Re: MIDI Clock Synchronization
    Heh Rounik, You said, "using Logic and Live might be the way to go." Question: How am I supposed to use Logic in a live/gig situation? Logic isn't meant for that, right? Jodie
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: MIDI Clock Synchronization
    Hey Jodie, It's not that I won't test it out - it's that I don't have the setup to test it out. ;-) But, my answer still stands, in that, AFAIK Mainstage won't sync to incoming midi clock or send it out. I can't give a reason for that, only the Mainstage/Logic developers can do that ;-) What I will suggest is that Mainstage is still at version 1. Hopefully future versions will support this. As for Logic... well, Logic has been and is used live by any artists. Amongst them, Bjork! It's very possible to use Logic live. You may consider setting up a template in Logic and create objects to control things in the Environment - similar to Mainstage, but not as pretty to look at! You can do all the same stuff with UB triggering samples etc & sync PC Live to Logic too :) Cheers Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: