macProVideo.com
Forums
  • supersport
    chord changes
    ok, so I'm new to recording and new to logic express, so right upfront I admit to living under a rock.....but I've been reading through the manual and watching the tutorial and learning all sorts of stuff about logic, but for the life of me I am stuck on something that should be so obvious and so easy, but I just can't find the answer. Let's say I want to compose a song using a simple driving piano riff..(I have no midi instrument, just using the midi instrument tracks from Apple)......so, for example, I want to start in C, then next measure change to G, then next measure F and then next measure back to C. Is there no way to change the original midi C chord into other chords without manually changing each note in piano roll? Also, is there no way to do a chord progression with audio loops? what's the point in constructing the song with only one chord? can someone please walk me through this process making a simple chord progression? Even the Demo song that I purchased on this site does not sport chord changes -- it's the same riff throughout the whole song -- how boring is that?.......I also looked through the manual, a GarageBand how-to book -- I can't find the answer. Quite frustrating...Am I missing something???...I could really use some help so I can move on. thanks.
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: chord changes
    Hi supersport & welcome to the forums :) There are a few ways to this. You can do it manually per single or selected MIDI or Apple Loop region - in the Region Parameters area (top of the Inspector) Select a value from the Transpose drop down menu. Alternatively, use the chord track in Global Tracks (top of the Track Header List). You can draw in chord, tempo, signature etc changes :) Check out this thread for more info: [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/logic/logic-pro-express&id=9892&sid=#12795[/url] Cheers Rounik
  • supersport
    Re: chord changes