macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Xetiwoa
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Jun 16th, 2008, 03:51
    Chord Changes
    I am new to this forum - I hope my question is ok. Is there a key command that allows one to insert chords in the global chord track on the fly (like Control K is used on the marker track)? Basically I want to listen to an audio file for which I know the changes and insert them while reviewing the track.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Chord Changes
    Hi Mandoman, Welcome to the forums :) Great question. Unfortunately, I don't think there is a key command to do what you want... Could you use the Signature Global track and the pencil tool to change the Key on the fly? Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Chord Changes
    Hi J.F. Great idea! I hadn't thought of such innovative ways to achieve this. Thanks :) Rounik
    Reply
  • Xetiwoa
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Jun 16th, 2008, 03:51
    Re: Chord Changes
    Thanks for your ideas and help - I am not a Logic Power User but I am becoming more knowledge every day - The work flow process that I am using to solve this chord entry problem goes like this: 1. Record the audio 2. Listen to the audio and record a clap track (either audio or midi) in time to the audio 3. Set the key signature 4. Beat map off of the clap track 5. Record a midi piano track of chords to the song as the original audio plays 6. Analyze that track with the Global Chord track analyzer At that point I can add other loops/samples and they adjust to the chord & tempo. I find beat mapping to the clap track easier than beat mapping to the original audio. I am not well versed with the score editor. Would using the J.F. idea be easier than what I am doing right now? Are there other benefits to using the score editor? Thanks
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Chord Changes
    Hi Mandoman, I'm not a frequent user of the Score Editor either... but give J.F's work flow a go and see if it works for you :) Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Xetiwoa
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Jun 16th, 2008, 03:51
    Re: Chord Changes
    Rounik: I'll give it a try - also, with the way I am working now, I quantize the piano region (where my chord input comes from) to the largest reasonable division so that the chords line up on the grid. Thanks - Lee
    Reply
  • steveH
    Posts: 857
    Joined: Oct 17th, 2006, 05:19
    Re: Chord Changes
    Thought I'd chime in here. The Chord Global Track's primary purpose is to change the the nature of the midi tonality in all the midi regions that sit below the global track in the arrange. It is not a passive display of chords, it's a active compositional tool. Yes, you can nullify its effect by clicking the "Change Display Only" check box. So I suggest you use the score editor (as my friend JF explained) because IT is a passive and easily editable chord display that is also tied to the beats and bars in a logical way. You can check out my TNT1 July tutorial #4... it'll show how to do it. Steve H
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: