macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Logic Pro & Logic Express
    Apploescript and Logic Express 8
    Hello All, I am a real newbie to Logic Express and Applescript, ( literally started 2 Saturdays ago ) but look forward to the joys, trials and tribulations. Just bought the Sal Soghoian book, and its already dog-eared. I am very familiar with other audio programs and basic programming. I am presently working on a project that uses Logic Express to provide an 8 zone multitrack audio playback scenario, that is to say playing a randomly selected audio track from a list of 10-12 audio montages each of 2 minute duration. Trigger is from a Passive Infrared Detector, using Indigo automation software to trigger an Applescript. Logic Express is not scriptable except via GUI Scripting ( According to the Applescript Book by Sal Soghoian) So far, I have been not had any success in the use of GUI scripting on Logic Express 8.m Specifically, the following script : ------------------------------------------------------------------------- activate application "Logic Express" tell application "System Events" >>tell process "Logic Express" >>>> delay 1 >>>> tell button 11 of window 1 to perform action "AXPress" >>end tell >> tell process "Logic Express" >>>>delay 1 >>>>tell button 6 of window 1 to perform action "AXPress" >>end tell end tell -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Button 11 is the "return to beginning"button Button 6 is the "play" button the delay command slows things down so I can observe the Logic Express 8 window to see the commands being executed. What happens is that the application opens, it becomes the frontmost app, and I can see the actual buttons changing color on the Logic Express window indicating buttons are pressed, but nothing happens - playback does not start. Manually Clicking the button with the mouse starts playback, but not with the script ? Am I misunderstanding something here ? or is Logic Express really no