macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Logic Ninja
    Recoding Electric Guitar
    I'm trying to record a real professional guitar sound, but I don't know what components I need to do in order to achieve this. I'm using a Gretsch 5120 guitar for recording which is connected to a presonus firebox and into my computer. I'm trying to record this song that I made on my Line 6 spider 2 amp, but when I record the song through this amp, the guitar sounds totally different. Should I use some third party plugins to make the guitar sound more lively or should I use external effects such as a vamp 2 or should I just go to a studio. I'm a noob at recording electric guitar, so any help I can get will be helpful. Abhi
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Recoding Electric Guitar
    Hi Abhi, I'd recommend experimenting with the process. Personally, unless I've found an amp sound which I really was 100% sure I wanted to use in the final version of the track, I'd record the guitar using Logic's plug-ins only to get as close to the sound I'm looking for. This way, you can always change your mind about the effects later as Logic records audio 'dry' (without rendering the effects to the audio). Then during mixing experiment with the plug-ins. Cheers Rounik
  • Logic Ninja
    Thanks for the quick respond Rounik. Are there any really good third party plugins that I can use in Logic for guitar amps?
  • Rounik Admin
    I'd look at using Guitar Amp Pro with other plug-ins and exploring the Channel strip settings from the Library first... If that's not doing it for you, then people are raving about the new Garageband 09 amp models (which have not yet been incorporated into Logic)... so you could try recording into GB'09? Also, check out Guitar Rig. That seems to be quite a popular 3rd party plug. Anyone else got further suggestions? Rounik
  • Logic Ninja