macProVideo.com
Forums
  • logicluvva
    Wait a while or update now ? Logic 9
    I've had Logic 8 for a year ( from being an absolute newbie to computers). So , an upgrade to Logic 9 is a new 'step' for me. I've heard about a few bugs in Logic 9.Like replace mode and third party instruments. So what should I do ? Wait until they sort them out ...or just go ahead and buy the update now ? Thanks.
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Wait a while or update now ? L...
    Hey Pala, I've heard about the Replace mode bug - although it doesn't affect me too much and so far there seem to be fewer bugs with Logic 9 than there were with Logic 8.0.0 Which 3rd party instruments cause issues with 9? I'm running Omnisphere and Stylus RMX and countless free and smaller effects plugins. Again all have behaved themselves impeccably so far. I should also add that the installation of Logic 9 over the top of Logic 8 was very smooth for me. I needed to get a copy of Logic 9 asap as I am an Apple Logic trainer, but when it comes to new hardware and software I'm not normally an early adopter... It's worth bearing in mind that Snow Leopard (OS 10.6) will be released in September sometime. This will improve efficiency of multi-core computers (basically most Macs - especially a Mac Pro)! But again, .0.0 release versions are very rarely perfect so it's really down to whether you're happy waiting until Logic 9.0.1. Whenever that may be is anyone's guess. Personally I'm happy I've got it and I have the choice of switching back to using Logic 8 if need be. One great thing is that Logic 9 does not overwrite the Logic 8 application. Rounik
  • Bj