macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Logic 9.0.1 & Mainstage 2.0.1 Updates Released!
    As the title says L9.0.1 and MS 2.0.1 are now available via Software Update on your Mac. Some issues that have apparently been fixed (can't confirm yet, as I'm downloading as I type): - Flex Markers now can align to MIDI notes - Punch-In recording in Replace mode - The I/O plug-in adds an option for latency compensation - Trimming a region now behaves correctly for regions whose first transient is quantized. + more: e.g. - new Dithering Algorithm when bouncing - I/O plugin can measure latency & compensate etc, etc
    Reply
  • djwhiterabbit_oc
    Posts: 41
    Joined: May 7th, 2008, 07:19
    Re: Logic 9.0.1 & Mainstage 2....
    At http://support.apple.com/kb/DL939 system requirements are at least Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later and VersionTracker system requirements are at least Mac OS X 10.5.5? Somebody, please post whether it is possible to install Logic Pro 9.0.1 on Mac OS 10.5.5 or not. Thanks. Also, someone please let us know after installing the Logic Pro 9.0.1 update into Snow Leopard If you look inside the .app package Contents directory, double-click the "info.plist" file. If you scroll down this list you will see a checkbox for "Application requires Carbon environment". Is this checked? Or Does it say "Application requires Cocoa environment?"
    Reply
  • djwhiterabbit_oc
    Posts: 41
    Joined: May 7th, 2008, 07:19
    Re: Logic 9.0.1 & Mainstage 2....
    Use Finder > Open With.. to view the "info.plist" file and choose Dashcode, start at the top of the Project file, then choose Edit > Find > Find... Type "Cocoa" or "Carbon", you should see the search result at around line 416.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Logic 9.0.1 & Mainstage 2....
    why are you concerned about whether Logic 9.0.1 will install on 10.5.5 AND 10.6.1? Which OSX version are you actually using? FYI, Logic 9.0.1 is running very well here on 10.5.7.
    Reply
  • djwhiterabbit_oc
    Posts: 41
    Joined: May 7th, 2008, 07:19
    Re: Logic 9.0.1 & Mainstage 2....
    i am concerned about whether Logic 9.0.1 will install on OS 10.5.5 because i am actually using OS 10.5.5. with the Logic 9.0.1 update, i am interested as far as with OS 10.6.1 whether or not it says ""Application requires Cocoa environment" because cocoa apps are 64 bit compatible, are a major benefit to using snow leopard, and a major benefit knowing that a cocoa codebase for apps allow for eventual 64 bit extended memory addressing. "At this time, Logic Pro 9.0.0 is not running in 64 bit mode on Snow Leopard. This will probably be true in the 9.0.1 update after the official Snow Leopard launch." Topic : Logic Studio 9 - 32 bit Carbon or 64 bit Cocoa? http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2091263&tstart=90 "From what I can tell, no improvement in memory handling in 9.0.1. And 10.6 still worse than 10.5." Topic : Memory Getting Low--Well, So's My Patience! http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2170292&start=15&tstart=60 "I would be totally shocked if after all this time, given Apple's decision to move towards Cocoa coding, they would reveal to us that LP9 has not yet been coded in Cocoa." Topic : Snow Leopard + Logic 9. discuss... http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2131190&tstart=60&start=60
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Logic 9.0.1 & Mainstage 2....
    Logic 9 requires OS 10.5.7 or above. Logic 9.0.1 is not 64 bit. Give this 64 transition a little time. If you expect it to happen by tomorrow you may be disappointed. I'm sure it will happen, but 'when' is anybody's guess. Personally I'm happy to wait for a good transition rather than a rushed job. BTW, Memory management in Logic 9.0.1 is better than 9.0.0 - quicker to load projects and launch. Finally, Please stop posting links to other forums!!! Please DO NOT create duplicate posts across more than one thread. Posting the occasional link to another forum is acceptable when attempting to answer someone else's question with a positive solution if it is too difficult to explain yourself. Rounik
    Reply
  • djwhiterabbit_oc
    Posts: 41
    Joined: May 7th, 2008, 07:19
    Re: Logic 9.0.1 & Mainstage 2....
    64-bit is the most elegant solution. First, it means nothing special hacked, or time wasted to address more memory in Logic Pro. Second, it allows the program you are using to use the faster features of 64-bit mode. If you do some research, you will see there are speed improvements in the CPU due to special features that are only available in 64-bit mode. One of those things, for instance, is the ability to use A LOT MORE registers in the CPU.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: