macProVideo.com
Forums
  • SixStringsDown
    Posts: 68
    Joined: Feb 14th, 2009, 12:13
    logic is panning on it's own
    Hi! I was trying out one of Steve's sweet environment panning things where the note data creates pan data for the track it is on. works awesome. problem is, my other software instrument tracks' panning goes crazy every time I touch their volumes. (inst 3 and 5 in the pic) But I don't have any cables plugged into them! Shouldn't they be working normally? Their panning is randomizing too. but only when I try to adjust their volumes manually. [img]http://grab.by/VtH[/img]
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: logic is panning on it's ...
    Hi Tieg, Does this happen in a brand new project. Do you have any cables attached to these channel strips in the clicks and ports layer? Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • SixStringsDown
    Posts: 68
    Joined: Feb 14th, 2009, 12:13
    Re: logic is panning on it's ...
    hmmm...can't recreate it. That stinks though that the project is corrputed. I guess if I had logic 9, I could just transfer all the files over to a new project. But I have 8. Also my Logic likes to crash when I'm in the Environment. Did you experience this ever?
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: logic is panning on it's ...
    Hi Tieg, I get the occasional crash in the environment... but not often. What version of OSX are you on? How about any other hardware, audio interfaces? With Logic 8, you can import environment layers from one project to another. Alternatively, you can open more than one project and copy and paste object(s) between projects. :) Rounik
    Reply
  • SixStringsDown
    Posts: 68
    Joined: Feb 14th, 2009, 12:13
    Re: logic is panning on it's ...
    good call. I'm on 10.6 the only hardware I use is an Apogee Duet. But it'll crash whether that's plugged in or not.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: logic is panning on it's ...
    hmmm... have the crashes increased in frequency since you upgraded to 10.6? I haven't tried it, but there are some users experiencing issues with Logic 8.0.2 and 10.6.x Is there any particular operation you perform when Logic crashes or is it purely random? Have you tried repairing permissions? [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/general/general-general&id=13874[/url] :) Rounik
    Reply
  • SixStringsDown
    Posts: 68
    Joined: Feb 14th, 2009, 12:13
    Re: logic is panning on it's ...
    It usually seems to be when the transform window is open. Sometimes I can use the transform window without it crashing. But sometimes I can. it's weird. I'll try repairing the permissions. thanks!
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: logic is panning on it's ...
    Hi Tieg one other thought, did you perform a clean install of Snow Leopard or an upgrade over your existing system? Let me know how you on :) Rounik
    Reply
  • SixStringsDown
    Posts: 68
    Joined: Feb 14th, 2009, 12:13
    Re: logic is panning on it's ...
    I just stuck the cd in and did what it told me to. I'm guessing that's not a clean install.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: logic is panning on it's ...
    Hi Tieg, No, by clean install I mean wiping your Mac's system drive (after backing up of course!!) and then installing 10.6 from scratch. :) Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: