macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Bokopee
    Mapping external instrument sounds to Logic
    Hi Macprovideo! I am quite new to Logic (I'm running Logic studio 8) but I'm slowly making some nice & successful projects, thanks mainly to the useful tutorials (I've purchased a few download ones but haven't yet tried the online technique). One problem area that I have is using sounds from external instruments. Using the general sound tables (GM) is readily accessible when one creates an external-midi track. However, picking up that special/particular sound from a keyboard or synth seems to be a problem. I always have to re-select it using the keyboard controls every time I restart Logic. Keyboards/synths come with tables of their internal sounds with values for MSB/LSB, program, bank, etc.. My problem is knowing how to pick these up in Logic. I've experimented a bit with the Environment window: multi-instrument, GM-mixer, etc.. Things seem to work a bit but not exactly how I want, and I cant seem to get the hang of it or where to start tackling the problem: is it the GM-mixer, the instrument, the multi-instrument, ..? This must be the most basic stuff in a sequencer and probably also why it's ignored in most manuals (logic manuals just touch on it) and even your tutorials! Isn't time Macprovideo had a tutorial with examples? For example show us how to map sounds from a Korg synth or a Yamaha Keyboard so that a particular Logic track would just pick up that Air-Choir sound when you switch on the instrument and boot Logic. Grateful for any help or simple explanation. Omar
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Mapping external instrument so...