macProVideo.com
Forums
  • JROD
    Beat Mapping like a novice
    I'm just learning about beat mapping (Steve H's master class) and I'm having trouble making the leap. The composition I'm hoping to beat map consists of some guitar tracks and an audio (blue) drum track. I tried to set up a beat map and thought I'd use the wave form as my guide but when I tried to set the beat, i.e. move it I couldn't. In my tutorial he is working with a solo midi track and I'm working with all audio tracks. Do I have to convert my drum loop into an apple loop to make it subject to the beat mapping function or is there some other thing I haven't figured out. I hope this is clear. (I'm not familiar with a lot of the nomenclature) Thanks, JRod
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Beat Mapping like a novice
    Hi JRod, I've never tried to beat map a project full of different audio tracks. When beat mapping you're generally trying to map Logic's grid to one track... so I'd suggest bouncing your project to a single audio file and beat mapping to that one audio file/region. I'm not completely clear what you're trying to achieve with beat mapping... Can you describe what the issue is with your composition and what you would like it be be like... perhaps using flex (Logic 9) would be a better solution for example? :) Rounik
  • JROD