macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Zihymua
    Posts: 206
    Joined: Oct 30th, 2007, 04:46
    Logic last update
    With the last update when we do a new instrument it come up with an es88 by default, why they did this on what purpose need, is there a way to cancelled this default Thank you
    Reply
  • Zihymua
    Posts: 206
    Joined: Oct 30th, 2007, 04:46
    Re: Logic last update
    Sorry it is EVP88 by default
    Reply
  • GMV Engineer
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Dec 27th, 2008, 02:06
    Re: Logic last update
    Taken from another forum: to switch it off go to channel strip settings when you put a new track in and select 'delete channel strip settings" then it says something about being sure about deleting evp88 channel strip, ok that and its gone
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Logic last update
    This is a good tip. Thanks GMV! Rounik
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Logic last update
    I actually like that new feature a lot. Everytime you create a new instrument track, you've got a quick sound to play with. You don't need to remove the EVP88 plugin at all, you just insert a new one... no extra step required! It would be nice if there was a preference so that you could choose another soft synth though. Christian
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Logic last update
    Hey Christian :) You could change the default plugin like this (from a user called JG99 on the Apple Forums): 1) Quit Logic. 2) Go to: Library/Applications support/Logic/Channel strip settings/Instrument/01 Logic Instruments/ 3) Rename the EVP88 Electric Piano.cst to some other name of your choice. Restart Logic and create a new software instrument track. It is nice and empty" Thanks JG99! :) Rounik
    Reply
  • Christian L
    Posts: 1410
    Joined: Aug 7th, 2006, 11:50
    Re: Logic last update
    Hi Rounik, I don't want to load an empty channel strip, instead I would like to have another instrument, (like the EXS24 or ES2) instead of the EVP88. Renaming the "EXS24 Sampler.cst" file to "EVP88 Electric Piano.cst" works though, so thanks a lot for the tip! :) It would be more elegant to have a preference that would let us change the default EVP88 to another plugin. Cheers! Christian
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Logic last update
    Hey Christian, Would be great to have a preference in Logic to choose the default instrument... I wonder if an Automator workflow could make this more elegant... :) Rounik
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Logic last update
    OK. I have a semi-elegant solution... to be used with Logic Pro 9.1.1 only. I've made an Automator workflow which I saved as an Application.... [shameless self-plug... to learn how to use Automator check out my OS 10.6 Advanced Snow Leopard tutorial... end plug] What you should do first! 1. Quit Logic 2. Navigate to Library/Application Support/Logic/Channel strip settings/Instrument/01 Logic Instruments/ 3. Rename the EVP88 Electric Piano.cst to some similar name e.g. EVP88 Electric Piano-REAL.cst 4. Run the Default Logic Inst application and follow the Instructions. It will even Launch Logic for you once you've changed the default Inst! N.B. You only need run this application when you wish to change the default instrument in Logic. Remember Logic should be closed before running it. N.B.2. Please backup your Channel strip settings and important files first. Although all this application does is copy and rename some cst files, I assume no liability should anything happen to your Mac, your musical ability or your mood as a result of running this app ;-) Here it is: [url]http://www.sendspace.com/file/d01ejj[/url] Let me know how it works for you... Rounik
    Reply
  • GMV Engineer
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Dec 27th, 2008, 02:06
    Re: Logic last update
    *Warning: The method I posted earlier will delete the instrument channel strip setting (EVP88 Electric Piano.cst) located in Library/Application Support/Logic/Channel strip settings/Instrument/01 Logic Instruments/ Not a big deal as it is easy to re-create. The easiest way to stop the EVP88 from being created when adding a new SW instrument is to un-check the "open library" box located in the lower left of the "New Tracks" dialog box. It's probably old news but useful never the less! -GMV
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: