macProVideo.com
Forums
  • cram
    New to the recording business
    Hi everyone! I am new to the recording business. I have a G5 (dual) Logic 7, the 1620 Mackie with a firewire card, and a compressor (alesis). I would appreciate any suggestion as what else do I need as I am planning to record a CD for my church. Thanks in advance [b]YOUR TEXT HERE[/b]
  • Xidehoy
    Re: New to the recording business
    Do you mean that you are doing something like recording the choir live?
  • cram
    Not exactly. I want to record to church band first. Drums, keyboard, bass and a guitar. After that I'll record the lead singer and the choir (four people).
  • Xidehoy
    Well, there's a whole lot of ways to work this..simply put : - you'll need an appropriate rehearsal/recording space (critical, don't just settle for anywhere) - you'll need a variety of good mics, mic stands/booms, a console, playback systems (both headphones and monitors), cables, distro boxes, duct tape, tampons, electronic tuners, blankets... - a mic'ing strategy - all of the instruments (especially the drums) need to be checked for rattles etc. - drums/percussion need to be tuned - piano needs to be tuned (about a week ahead of time) - recording space needs to be checked for noises, trains, floor squeaks, janitors, birds, etc etc. - make sure the guitar and bass players have changed their strings a day or two ahead of time - double check the rhythm sections' cabling for hums and have a hard listen to their amps too. - make sure you have extra reeds, sticks, strings, mutes, picks, etc. - bullhorn, beer and bar-b-q :) - determine if there any additional players you'll need to bring in to fill out the sound - are there players that might need to be replaced (hard call) This is just a little tiny list..there are an awful lot of considerations under each of these bullets too. Have you done this before? BTW - if the choir is straight a capella, I would start there and see how things go. Just my .02 Regards, Shaun