macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Logic Ninja
    Posts: 117
    Joined: Oct 11th, 2007, 08:40
    Plugging my NORD LEAD 3 into LOGIC studio
    Hi, I'm trying to plugin my nord lead 3 keyboard into my Logic studio I'm using a m-audio midi to usb adapter, but logic is only picking up my keyboad as a controller, none of keyboards own sounds are being recorded. Can I record my nord lead 3 sounds with midi information together?
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Plugging my NORD LEAD 3 into L...
    Hi Logic Ninja, MIDI is basically instruction data, or info. It doesn't create any audible sound or produce audio by itself. By connecting your Nord to Logic via MIDI you are simply sending the MIDI data to Logic.. and can then trigger the onboard sounds of the Nord that way. If you want to record or monitor the audio produced by the Nord in Logic, you'll need to connect it's audio output to your audio interface and use an audio track (in record ready mode). So, basically, create a MIDI track and an audio track for the Nord :) Rounik
    Reply
  • Logic Ninja
    Posts: 117
    Joined: Oct 11th, 2007, 08:40
    Re: Plugging my NORD LEAD 3 into L...
    Thanks for respond Rounik!!! Oh, isn't there a way i can further change the sound of my keyboard once I bring it into a squencer such as Reason 4. I want to sound design it further, while keeping the same sound from the keyboard.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Plugging my NORD LEAD 3 into L...
    Hi Ninja! What do you mean "sound design" it... if you prefer, then don't record it as audio but route the audio from the Nord through Logic and simply use the MIDI track in Logic to trigger the notes from the Nord to playback through Logic.... Whether you record the output to an audio track or not you can always place insert effects on the audio channel strip to non-destructively alter the sound. Hope that helps, Rounik
    Reply
  • Logic Ninja
    Posts: 117
    Joined: Oct 11th, 2007, 08:40
    Re: Plugging my NORD LEAD 3 into L...
    got it, thanks!!
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: