macProVideo.com
Forums
  • SamiS
    Posts: 16
    Joined: Apr 26th, 2010, 09:00
    Global Track Chords
    I am experimenting with the Global Track chords feature. Neat. I laid out all of my guitar chords in midi just to set the structure of my song. I then used the global track chord "analyze" feature and it did a pretty good job of reading the chords from the midi. It made a few mistakes that I am perplexed by. The song is in the key of G. It labeled a Dsus4 a Gsus2maj7. Any idea why it would do that? I am really just looking for a simple why to add chords to my score. The manual says that this is not what the Chords feature is for, but it sure seems convenient to use it for this as opposed to hand editing each chord into the score. Is there an alternative approach?
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Global Track Chords
    Hi I understand what you want it to do... but as you realise, while being pretty good, it's not perfect - and is not designed as a method to simply display chords in your project. The only alternative approach I know of is to use the Markers or insert chord symbols in the Score Editor. :) R
    Reply
  • SamiS
    Posts: 16
    Joined: Apr 26th, 2010, 09:00
    Re: Global Track Chords
    Too bad. How do you use markers to accomplish this task?
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Global Track Chords
    Well, there are a couple of ways and it depends on how often you need to create markers... Here's how I would approach this (bearing in mind I'm very comfortable with using key commands!) Open the Piano Roll and the Marker List: 1. Use the left/right arrow keys to move through/select the MIDI notes in the Piano Roll until you reach the chord. 2. Press the Key command for "Set Locators by regions/events/marquee" (for me this is the'=' key). 3. Use the "Go to Left locator" command. For me this is Control+[ 4. Use the command to "create marker without rounding". This is CMD+' (for me) Once your done doing this you can either enter the text as desired in the Marker List area or Option-double click on the Marker name in the lower third of the Bar Ruler and rename it there. btw, you can follow the same steps in the Score Editor if you prefer. Hope this helps Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: