macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Bavyxoo
    Posts: 33
    Joined: Jun 18th, 2010, 05:36
    how to create tied notes in the score editor
    Hi I'm trying to create tied notes in the score editor via step input. In the manual it says to "Insert a note value that is shorter than the one you want to insert. Change the note length in the Event Parameter box, the Event List, or the Event Float window." but then when you go to change the value in one of these boxes, there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason as to what value corresponds to the note length. It's very confusing. Anybody know how to step input tied notes in an effective way? Thanks Misha
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: how to create tied notes in th...
    Hi Misha, The Values in the Note Length are displayed in: Bars | Beats | Divisions | Ticks Let's say you want to set the length to 1 Bar, 2 Beats, 1 Division and 40 ticks. Double click on the Length value and enter: 1 [space bar] 2 [space bar] 1 [spacebar] 40 [Space bar] Let's say you want to set the length to 3 Beats, 1 Division and 20 ticks. Double click on the Length value and enter: 3 [space bar] 1 [spacebar] 20 [Space bar] Hope that helps Rounik
    Reply
  • Bavyxoo
    Posts: 33
    Joined: Jun 18th, 2010, 05:36
    Re: how to create tied notes in th...
    Thanks Rounik I tried out your method, though I still don't get it. Can you translate that into say, a half note tied over the bar line in 4/4 ? For example, let's say I want to start the note on beat 4 and tie it to beat 1 of the next bar? Or, another example, if I start on beat 3 and want to tie it to a whole note in the next bar, thereby creating 6 beats in total? Best Misha
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: how to create tied notes in th...
    Hi Misha, Sure. QUOTE: "For example, let's say I want to start the note on beat 4 and tie it to beat 1 of the next bar? " Double click on the Length parameter and type: 2 [space] 0 [space] 0 [space] (That's 2 beats) _____ QUOTE: :Or, another example, if I start on beat 3 and want to tie it to a whole note in the next bar, thereby creating 6 beats in total?" 1 [space] 2[space] 0 [space] 0 [space] (That's one bar, 2 beats = 6 beats) Thanks Rounik
    Reply
  • Bavyxoo
    Posts: 33
    Joined: Jun 18th, 2010, 05:36
    Re: how to create tied notes in th...
    Thanks Rounik! That's clearer to me. Misha
    Reply
  • logic9
    Posts: 8
    Joined: Sep 21st, 2010, 07:55
    Re: how to create tied notes in th...
    misha could u plz help me and reply to my question in my PLZ HELP thread
    Reply
  • Bavyxoo
    Posts: 33
    Joined: Jun 18th, 2010, 05:36
    Re: how to create tied notes in th...
    actually that all makes sense now for the longer duration tied notes, but when i try to enter in dotted notes, it doesn't take for example if i try to make a dotted quarter, i'll type in : 0 for bar 1 for the quarter 2 for the dot? i can only get it to vary by quarter notes or very small subdivisions if i leave the first and second numbers at 0 thanks! m
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: how to create tied notes in th...
    Hi Misha, The 3rd value is called Divisions (not Dots). This relates to the Division value in your Transport Bar. So let's say you want to add a dotted quarter note... Well a dot adds half of the value to the note, so: A Dotted whole note = 6 beats (or one a half bars) A Dotted half note = 3 beats A dotted quarter note = 1.5 beats A dotted eighth note = 0.75 of a beat A dotted sixteenth note = 0.375 of a beat So, it's important to check and see what your Division value is set to... Let's say it's set to /16. So that's 16 divisions within every bar... and 4 within every beat. OK. So to create a dotted quarter: Bar = 0 Beat = 1 Div = 2 Tick = 0 That works for me here. For a dotted half note it's much easier: Bar 0 Beat 3 Div 0 Tick 0 For a dotted eighth note it would be: Bar 0 Beat 0 Div 3 Tick 0 For a dotted sixteenth note... hmmm... Bar 0 Beat 0 Div 1 Ticks 120 Remember this is all when your Division value in Logic's Transport is set to /16. Hope this helps Rounik
    Reply
  • Bavyxoo
    Posts: 33
    Joined: Jun 18th, 2010, 05:36
    Re: how to create tied notes in th...
    great, thanks for helping me get to the bottom of this, rounik. for a little while it wasn't working as you were prescribing, but then i realized it was because the interpretation check box was checked. i had to uncheck it to get the same results as you. all the best m
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: how to create tied notes in th...
    No problem Misha! Yes, v.important to disable "interpretation". :) Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: