macProVideo.com
Forums
  • rgr
    Posts: 7
    Joined: Oct 8th, 2006, 10:42
    Slip Audio and Quick Swipe Comping
    Can we still time slip audio within quick comp selections? I seem to recall this being possible but can't remember how.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Slip Audio and Quick Swipe Com...
    Hi HardCoreAudio You can access the length change tool when Quick swipe Comping is turned on by Shift-dragging the edge of a selected take... Is this what you what to do? Rounik
    Reply
  • rgr
    Posts: 7
    Joined: Oct 8th, 2006, 10:42
    Re: Slip Audio and Quick Swipe Com...
    No, I'm not trying to change the length of the swipe selections. I'm trying to "slip" the audio inside the selection just like the slip tool in FCP or when working with Soundtrack Pro and the Multitake editor. Now that I think of it, I may be getting this feature mixed up with a project in Soundtrack Pro and not Logic Pro. Sorry for the confusion.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Slip Audio and Quick Swipe Com...
    Do you mean like Roll editing in FCP? Doesn't swiping takes in a take folder achieve this for you? Sorry... my brain is still in early morning mode despite the time! Can you try this and tell me if it's closer to what you want to achieve? The slip tool (called Junction tool in Logic) will only work with two regions butting up against each other on the same track: 1. Switch Drag mode in Logic to 'No Overlap'. 2. Take two regions (any two) and place one overlapping the other. 3. Place the mouse cursor on the boundary between the two regions. Placing it in the bottom half will give you the resize tool. In the top half the cursor turns into the slip (junction) tool. 4. Using the Junction tool, drag from left to right to slip the audio. Please excuse me if I've not answered the questions you're asking! :) R
    Reply
  • Nate Gerber
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Sep 18th, 2007, 12:50
    Re: Slip Audio and Quick Swipe Com...
    I don't think that's what Hardcore Audio is referring to. I think he's asking about if its possible to shift the audio location inside a region without moving the region's boundaries on the arrange page - and furthermore, if this can be done to takes within comp folders. I too am very interested to know the answer to this question. As far as I know this impossible to do, but if there is a way that would definitely be very helpful!
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Slip Audio and Quick Swipe Com...
    Hi Nate, Thanks for clarifying. Would be a great feature - but AFAIK it's never been possible to slip edit the contents of regions in Logic in this way. The most similar style to slip that can be done is to adjust the Anchor of a region in the Sample Editor... :)
    Reply
  • rgr
    Posts: 7
    Joined: Oct 8th, 2006, 10:42
    Re: Slip Audio and Quick Swipe Com...
    That is exactly what I am asking. This feature is in Soundtrack Pro with the Multitake Editor but as far as I can tell it is not in Logic Pro. Bummer! Thanks for the help. Ray
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Slip Audio and Quick Swipe Com...
    Hi HardcoreAudio, Actually, there is a way to slip edit (i alluded to it above)... But here are two methods. B is simpler than A - but both work :) [b]Method A:[/b] 1. Select the region in the Arrange area and choose Region > Lock SMPTE position (Notice that a lock icon appears in the top left of the region. [img]http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/6582/step1d.png[/img] 2. Double-click on the audio region to open it in the Sample Editor. Make sure that Edit > Lock Arrange Position is enabled. [img]http://img299.imageshack.us/img299/3668/step2z.png[/img] 3. Use the Hand Tool in the Sample Editor to drag the selection area to create a new range. [img]http://img833.imageshack.us/img833/5302/step3uk.png[/img] 4. Choose Edit > Selection to Region (you can set this up as a key command) [img]http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/66/step4l.png[/img] 5. Notice that the audio has been "slipped" in the Arrange area's region. [img]http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/6618/step5g.png[/img] [b]Method B:[/b] (Even easier) - No need to Lock the SMPTE position of the region. 1. Select the region in the Arrange area and choose Window > Audio Bin (You can't do this in the Audio Bin Tab) [img]http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/4082/step6r.png[/img] 2. Position the mouse pointer in the bottom half of the region in the Audio Bin Window. The pointer turns into a double headed arrow. Notice the position of the waveform in the pic below. [img]http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/5145/step7a.png[/img] 3. Drag along the horizontal axis to slip the audio. Like so: [img]http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/927/step8s.png[/img] Hope this helps Rounik
    Reply
  • Nate Gerber
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Sep 18th, 2007, 12:50
    Re: Slip Audio and Quick Swipe Com...
    Hey! Nice! Doesn't look like this can be done for takes inside comp folders, but I'll do a little hunting today.. perhaps theres a way ;) Thanks Rounik, very kind of you to hunt that down! I'll be adjusting my workflow accordingly :)
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Slip Audio and Quick Swipe Com...
    No probs Nate! I'd forgotten that I used to use the first Method A back in the time of Logic 7/8... I'm assembling this tip with a little more info into a Blog Post so check out the blog soon. Of course there's plenty more on the blog to check out now though ;-) [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/blog/[/url] No - it's not possible to slip edit audio in Take Folders. These need to be unpacked or flattened before it will work. Thanks Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: