macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Vimadeu
    Posts: 13
    Joined: Nov 18th, 2007, 05:27
    Transpose to another mode automatically
    Hi there, Does anyone have an idea how I can transpose a given region to another mode (from ionian to myxolydian for ex) automatically?
    Reply
  • Dekuruy
    Posts: 148
    Joined: Nov 23rd, 2007, 07:28
    Re: Transpose to another mode auto...
    Try this - 1. On the arrange page, select the region you want to edit. 2. Press the letter 'E' on your computer keyboard to open up the event list. You should see a list of your MIDI data here. 3. According to the example in your question, if changing from ionian to mixolydian, just find the first instance of a seventh scale tone being played, and select it. (So, if you are in the key of C, for example, just find the first 'B' and select it.) 4. At the top of the event list, click on the 'Edit' menu, and scroll down to 'Select Similar Events'. Doing this should select all 'B's (or seventh scale tones) in the region. 5. At the top of the event list, click on the 'Functions' menu, and scroll down to 'Transformer'. Hold the mouse over 'Transformer', and you'll see another drop down menu. Find 'Transposition' and select it. This action will open up a transformer window. 6. In the middle of that window, you will see the word 'Add' with a number (should be a zero) underneath it. Simply lower that number to -1 (negative one) because you want to lower all seventh scale tones one semi-tone. 7. Now click on 'Operate Only' at the bottom of the Transform window. Everything in the region should now be in myxolydian mode. Hope that works for you.
    Reply
  • Vimadeu
    Posts: 13
    Joined: Nov 18th, 2007, 05:27
    Re: Transpose to another mode auto...
    thank you for your explanation. What if I want to transpose to a mode with several sharps or flats, or even a hepta or dodeca (Five or Twelve notes) scale? Is there any way to build a environment device that can be saved and pulled out if needed? Any other ideas?
    Reply
  • Dekuruy
    Posts: 148
    Joined: Nov 23rd, 2007, 07:28
    Re: Transpose to another mode auto...
    Hi Christopher, Before I respond to your latest question, let me say that after my first reply to you, I realized that it is unnecessary to use a Transformer to do what you say you want to do above. If you follow my directions through step 4, from there you just need to click and drag up or down on the note name in the event list (in the 'Num' column) in order to change the pitch of that note and all others selected as desired. You can use the Transformer, as you found out if you followed my steps, and Transformers are extremely powerful, but in this case it is not necessary. Transformers in the environment are different from the Transformers accessed from the event list or piano roll editors. Transformer environment objects are designed for real time transformation of MIDI data. I mention this since you asked about building an environment device. Transformer environment objects would likely be a part of that set up. For the time being, to address your question 'What if I want to transpose to a mode with several sharps or flats, or even a hepta or dodeca scale?', they are two very different things. As far as transposing to different keys, just follow what I outlined in my first reply to you, but choose 'Select All' from the edit menu (or command 'A'), and move any of the selected notes up or down until you are in the desired key. Transforming seven note scales to five or twelve note scales (if indeed that's what you want to do) is a much different, and I believe a much more involved process. So, I'm not quite sure what it is you want to do in regards to that part of your question. Are you transforming something that's already recorded as MIDI information in a region, or do you want real time transformation (or transposition) of MIDI data? If you could be more specific about this, I would have a better chance of directly addressing your question.
    Reply
  • Vimadeu
    Posts: 13
    Joined: Nov 18th, 2007, 05:27
    Re: Transpose to another mode auto...
    Thank you again for your response. My idea is to modify something that has already been recorded into another mode or scale. I was imagining a sort of pull down menu that would contain as many modes or scales as programed that I could choose from. The change would only affect the selected region. One of the goals would be to be able to compose polymodaly without all the hassle. Any ideas? Christopher
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Transpose to another mode auto...
    Hey, It's possible to do this in real-time by getting very intimate with chord memorizer objects, cable switchers and the odd transformer... in Logic's Environment. Then using this setup an existing MIDI region on a channel strip could be routed through such a setup to record it in realtime and transform it onto a new software instrument channel strip... I'm not savvy enough with all the modes and scales, but I know it's been done before! Let me see what I can dig up... :) Rounik
    Reply
  • Dekuruy
    Posts: 148
    Joined: Nov 23rd, 2007, 07:28
    Re: Transpose to another mode auto...
    Hey Rounik, How have you been? Hope you are well. Great TnT last month! I especially liked the end - very creative. I was thinking along the same lines in regards to Christopher's question. Upon playback of the existing region, everything could be transformed into the desired mode or scale. I can visualize this with just the seven traditional modes, as each chord memorizer could represent each mode and be receiving data from a cable switcher labeled (as text) and cabled to each one of the chord memorizers. (Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aolean and Locrian). The cable switcher would be receiving its data from the original channel strip, and the chord memorizers, after transposing to the desired mode, could then be routed to another cable switcher, which would be cabled to transformers, each configured to transpose to the desired key. Then those transformers could each be cabled to a channel strip, and those channel strips could be cabled to the sequencer input. It would be most efficient if each of those last channel strips transmitted on their own MIDI channel, so that they could record discreetly to separate channel strips on the arrange page. (Auto-demix by channel would have to be checked in project settings). Christopher could choose to record all possibilities at once, or just select the ones he wanted. I guess it's also possible to skip the transformers and do the transposing within those last channel strips. But all that being said, Rounik, I don't know how to address this if Christopher wants to convert a seven note scale to a chromatic, or pentatonic scale, as I think he mentioned. Could Transformers be used for this? It wouldn't be hard to use a chord memorizer to change a seven note scale to a five note, or a twelve to a seven, for that matter, but there would either be missing notes, or repeated notes. But going up in scale degree number, like from five to seven, or seven to twelve, is that possible? Maybe this could be another TnT subject. Take care, Adam
    Reply
  • Vimadeu
    Posts: 13
    Joined: Nov 18th, 2007, 05:27
    Re: Transpose to another mode auto...
    Well well, I am very happy to get some feedback! The latest idea (with Chord memorize, cable switcher, transformers) sounds like it's getting closer to what I had imagined. But how could it be realized? I am not familiar enough with cable switchers... Any other ideas about how to build this "Modalizer"that would be a very interesting composer's tool, wouldn't it? Christopher
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Transpose to another mode auto...
    Hey Adam, I'm well thanks, and likewise hope all is good for you!! Thanks. Making three varieties of visual metronome for Steve H's TNT3 tutorial was pretty fun. Glad to liked it! There are loads of ways I like to use lights and the click track object in Logic, but most are a little obscure and something I'm working on in my spare time is creating a very cool step sequencer in the Environment... simple, but really enjoyable to use... when/if I get some of the bugs out of it I may post it on the forums :) Anyway, back to your question, Christopher... Chord Memorizer objects essentially act as transformers, as you can specify which input notes will be transformed to a note of choice... However, like the arpeggiator and delay line it's a real-time object so Logic's Transport needs to be in play mode. Rather than me trying to re-invent the wheel... a Logic Environment maestro I know has created just such a cool environment which I'm hoping he'll kindly share with us here. I've figured out a way to "record/transform" an existing MIDI region using his wonderful 'Scale Remapper' environment, which I'll post later on. Best Rounik
    Reply
  • Vimadeu
    Posts: 13
    Joined: Nov 18th, 2007, 05:27
    Re: Transpose to another mode auto...
    I am very impressed with everybody's responses. I am enjoying the sharing. So I can't wait to see what this person has made up and hope it will enable me to experiment with the idea that triggered this thread. Read you soon, Christopher
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: