macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Rohogay
    Posts: 185
    Joined: Oct 26th, 2009, 07:08
    How do you save I/O Labels?
    I just added a Lynx Aurora 16 and AES16e PCI express card to my Mac Pro.things just got so much faster and I set my buffer to 64 since it's near 0 latency!! Yaaay!! But I am dealing with a few different issues. One is the I/Os for the Microphones are set on a given group of inputs and other gear is set to their respective input and outputs. I did create a list last night and thought I saved it for the I/O Labels. This worked for the channel strip inputs. I tried to call it up today and it is no more. I suspect it will be a users preference maybe? I would like to create this labeling and store it to my template. Also, How can I set Labeling for my Soft Patch or Utility I/O drop down selections for play and record? They are all just a bunch of grouped numbers such as 1-2, 3-4, 5-6 and so on. I have to reference a chart. Is it possible to set logic to display these input and output selections with labels as to what piece of hardware I am actually using? Thanks much and by the way, Hey Rounik, Long time no type!!! Best Regards Victor Mason Mojave Ampworks LLC Check out our new website. Pictures of me and all my artists.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: How do you save I/O Labels?
    Hey Victor, Indeed, long time no type... Hope you are well! Sounds like a very nice setup you're assembling. Nice! Well, the odd thing is, that any changes you make to the I/O Labels are automatically saved in the Preferences file... they are a global setting and not a Project setting... If you make a change, let's say rename Bus 1 and Input 1 then close the project and open a blank new project, you should see the changes have been saved in the I/O Labels... Does it not work for you in Logic 9? Are you using 9.1.3? Thanks :) Rounik p.s. nice new website! Love the pic and caption: "Get to know Victor Mason. The man behind the amps (literally)
    Reply
  • Rohogay
    Posts: 185
    Joined: Oct 26th, 2009, 07:08
    Re: How do you save I/O Labels?
    Thanks for the Kudos on the website. Point in fact, Yes, I did do the label changes and yes, I did see they were global as I closed my project and opened up a new project template. I saw the changes had stuck regarding the Labeling of the I/O's, at least in the I/O list and on the channel strips. Today however, I went back to my project after having powered down the computer and re-powering back up. There was no Label List. To be honest, I was typing those labels last night and that is exactly what I had been thinking of, tomorrow they will probably drop out. So can I make a back up of them as in this case where they disappeared? I dread doing all that typing again just to do it over at a future date. Also, Any ideas on the I/O Soft Patch labeling? As in, Utilities I/O patch and the Play or Record selections? At present, I have created a chart with all the gear and the I/O #s they are assigned to. If it were in the drop down menu, meaning the actual gear names, then it would be just that much faster but I have the suspicion that is not an option just yet. Am I wrong? I have to look up some of your writing that was from last year. You did a bit on Keep A Float regarding Logic. Would you post those links for me? I use that ALL THE TIME on my Mac if the window will let me. Some will and some won't as you know. Got that from your Mac 201!! Great work Rounik! I also remember you did some work on another few things? I have to go back and search the Blog for your writings. On the new Rig, I have made the leap from Pro-sumer to Pro-fessional in complete. I have the following outboard gear. I only have it because I have heard it and I consider them the Magic Boxes which are very valuable. The rest, I do in the box. Empirical Labs EL-7 Fatso Empirical Labs EL8x ( two for stereo) DBX 160 SL Blue Series Compressor (Real Magic) Vintech X73i Vintech 473 Lexicon PCM96 All running via Lynx Aurora 16 and the AES16E PCI express Card. I use an old 1988 Phase Linear Power amp which I rebuilt from scratch. The amp is 240 watts per side. I use it to power a set of JBL 6331s. A bit big but I like them that way. I have to use correction Software since the monitors are not powered and do not have built in correction. I use the IK Multi Media ARC. Works superb and I highly recommend it over expensive room treatment. Any room will work in any environment since the Software optimizes the sound for your listening position. Several "sweat spots" are available for different use. Say if you have a friend stop over and you're both sitting at the computer, you choose the two position settings. It allows such things as optimal listening for a "Client Couch" even or a project station. Anything will work. So $395USD vs. $3995USD or pounds. Easy choice. It's also able to give you compensated curves for high frequency, Highs +Mids etc depending on your environment and program material. Very flexible. So there is the plug for ARC by iK Multimedia. Victor Mason Mojave Ampworks LLC
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: How do you save I/O Labels?
    Hey Victor, That's odd... My I/O Labels stick... as they are stored in the Logic preferences file, and are therefore loaded by default for every project, new or old... Did you by chance manually trash your Logic preferences file? Also, make sure to type in the I/O labels under "Long name" and not "short name"... You could keep a backup of the pref file... I believe that's where labels are stored: 1. Go to [Home folder]/Library/Preferences/ 2. Copy the file "com.apple.logic.pro.plist" to your Desktop/safe folder of choice... --- As for getting names into the I/O plugin in Logic... I don't know if that's possible... Can't seem to find a way to do so with my equipment here. The trick would be to find out where/how Logic decides on the input and output names. I wonder.... One solution would be to set up the I/O Utility plugin for one type of activity and save the setting with a relevant name. e.g. "Record xxxx" and do the same for other settings. That way you can switch settings to suit your purpose. Let me know if this works... I'm very curious now. Thanks for the kudos re: my Tut and the blog :) Yes, it's very cool using afloat to make any window a floating window... here's the blog post on that: [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/blog/logic-pro/power-tip-enable-window-floating-window-logic[/url] The search feature in the Blog should help you find most articles (as long as I added good tags ;-)... but if you need any help finding any articles or have any questions, then of course just ask away and we'll do our best to help... that's what we're here for :) Best Rounik
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: How do you save I/O Labels?
    Hi Victor, btw, what version of Logic are you running? Prior to version 9.1.1 there was a specific I/O Labels file that you could essentially backup... since Logic 9.1.1 the I/O Labels are stored in the "com.apple.logic.pro.plist" file... :) R
    Reply
  • Rohogay
    Posts: 185
    Joined: Oct 26th, 2009, 07:08
    Re: How do you save I/O Labels?
    I just checked, 9.1.3 I guess it did an update. I will rewrite the I/O labels in the I/O label table and do as you suggested, save the Plist file. That is the smart approach. quick question, As I move along, I find myself wanting to modify my template page etc. Where do I go for that? I would expect find templates but is there a modify or do I continue to simply make my changes and save it which writes over the old template?
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: How do you save I/O Labels?
    Hey Victor, It's a shame the I/O Labels separate file is now a thing of the past... and that different I/O Labels can not be saved as recalled more easily... As for templates, check out this blog post: [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/blog/logic-pro/quick-tip-creating-project-templates-logic-9[/url] It should answer everything... also the Logic 101 is comprehensive... but in answer to your question, yes, open the template in Logic, make modifications manually and then save as template. Overwrite it if you wish. I normally keep a few folders of different style templates and often organize them directly in the Finder. (All info on that should be in the blog post above). Hope that helps :) Rounik
    Reply
  • Rohogay
    Posts: 185
    Joined: Oct 26th, 2009, 07:08
    Re: How do you save I/O Labels?
    Hmm, So they no longer offer an I/O auto save? if I ready your message correctly? that being the 9.1.4? One lesson I have taken to heart, only update after all things are certain to work. That mainly being OS and software etc. Logic did the update itself. Didn't your go update to 9.1.4?
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: How do you save I/O Labels?
    Well, the I/O Labels used to have their own separate file saved in ~/Library/Application Support/Logic/ in versions prior to Logic 9.1.0. The latest version of Logic is 9.1.3... but hey, who's counting? I never let Software Update automatically perform updates without knowing exactly what it's doing... Go to System Preferences and click on "Software Update". Here you can choose whether Software Update will check automatically and how often it will do so... Also, when performing a Software Update you should get this message: [img]http://img832.imageshack.us/img832/5178/screenshot20101103at181.png[/img] Choose "Show Detail" and then you can check / uncheck what apps to update. But personally, I think the bug fixes and extra features in Logic 9.1.3 are worth updating for :) R
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: