macProVideo.com
Forums
  • theXplaner
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Sep 26th, 2010, 10:47
    ''harmonize' samples without affecting durations?
    Hi, I want to harmonize ambient recorded soundsource-samples as if they were 'notes from musical instruments'', by assigning samples to pitched zones as on Logic's EXS24. Thus for example, I'd make a minor-type chord from a bird's tweet, or from footsteps, or what-have-you. Trouble is, how to get all the 'stretched' or 'squeezed' samples to have their sonic artifacts lined-up together time-wise, in order to completely harmonize? My Mac advisor thinks 'Reason' might have features to enable this. Can you verify and/or suggest? I have a million ways to go with this type of idea.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: ''harmonize' sa...
    Hi theXplaner, Welcome to the mpv forums :) Using pitched zones in the EXS24's Sample Editor does stretch/compress the duration of the sample. Basically you'll want to create samples for each pitch you need... Here's an example of how I would do it in Logic 9: 1. Copy the bird tweet region multiple times (say 12 times for one octave) on a Track in the Arrange area. 2. Insert a Pitch Shifter II plugin on the track. Set the mix to 100%. 3. Automate the Semi Tones slider so for each region it is, for example, one semi tone higher. 4. Bounce the track in Place: Track > Bounce track in place (make sure to NOT bypass effects plugins) 5. Split the bounced region using the Scissor tool. (Hold down Option to split the region into multiple regions of the same length). 6. Select all the regions and choose Audio > Convert Regions to new sampler track (Make sure that Create Zones is set to Regions and set the trigger note as desired. Done! Bear in mind, that once you do this a few times and use some Key commands this can be a very quick process). I think I'll turn this into a Blog tutorial with more explanation along the way... Let me know if this helps or not, Rounik
    Reply
  • Dekuruy
    Posts: 148
    Joined: Nov 23rd, 2007, 07:28
    Re: ''harmonize' sa...
    Hey Rounik, A blog on this topic sounds great! I loved your scary Halloween blogs as well - very inspiring. Keep up the great work. Thanks, Adam
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: ''harmonize' sa...
    Hey Adam, Thanks for the kind words! It was a lot of fun creating the Halloween blog posts ;-) Do feel free to drop a comment at the bottom of any blog posts if you want. I've written up one on "creating pitched instruments in Logic's EXS24". Much the same solution as above... but with pictures - it's in the queue... Today's post is on "Parallel Compression" in Logic. Great for fattening up a sound or two. :) Rounik
    Reply
  • Dekuruy
    Posts: 148
    Joined: Nov 23rd, 2007, 07:28
    Re: ''harmonize' sa...
    Hi Rounik, That's great. Yes, I read your Parallel Compression blog earlier today. Very helpful! Thanks as always for being such a great resource, and a genuine good guy! Take care, Adam
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: ''harmonize' sa...
    Wow! Thanks again Adam - for all the comments and the kind words! Best Rounik
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: ''harmonize' sa...
    Hey guys, Blog post now published: "Creating Pitched Sampler Instruments without affecting Sample Duration in Logic 9" http://www.macprovideo.com/blog/logic-pro/creating-pitched-sampler-instruments-affecting-sample-duration-logic-9 Hope it helps! We're averaging about one post a day on the blog at the moment and it's growing... just to let you know it's a fast growing area of tips and tricks - and well worth checking daily!! Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • theXplaner
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Sep 26th, 2010, 10:47
    Re: ''harmonize' sa...
    Amazingly helpful response to my previous question! I now have pro access and I'm watching the Dvorin tut. I wanted to create loops so I can sustain notes created from these samples, but when I'm selecting loop points and performing the edit>selection to sample loop command, no sample loop appears in my EXS24 editor. One instrument responded to this commands, but several others did not. Not sure why! I tried converting my regions to self-contained audio files before converting the track to a sampler instrument, but that didn't seem to work. Any ideas? Thanks...
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: ''harmonize' sa...
    Thanks! Works fine here... make sure that for the zone you wish to use the loop point that "Loop" is enabled and '1shot' and 'Reverse' are not enabled in the EXS Instrument Editor. This should work... :) R
    Reply
  • theXplaner
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Sep 26th, 2010, 10:47
    Re: ''harmonize' sa...
    Hi, I want to use the pitch-shift to create zones spanning three or more octaves. I tried bouncing the track of a single octave in place and then applying the same pitch-shifter automation, but the result seems to be a 'compounding' into, let's say, whole tones instead of semitones. Is this expected or unexpected, or is there a workaround, or another au plugin that can do more than two octaves at a time? PS, as follow up to previous issue, I discovered that the length of the filename was the culprit for why EXS couldn't set the loop points. Thanks again, you are good.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: