macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Play
    Posts: 20
    Joined: Apr 22nd, 2007, 09:52
    Converting ProTools session for work/remix in Logic Studio?
    Hi. I have a great opportunity and am doing a spec remix for a large dance music label for the possibility of getting signed. All I have ever used is Logic and Ableton. I received the parts to remix and what they sent was a ProTools session folder. Within the folder is an Audio Files folder and Fade Files Folder as well as the .pts session file. There are 2 versions of each audio file, each with the extension .L or .R. I can drag these to Logic and listen to them but the .L files and the .R files SEEM to be identical and not in mono. I can see some read more energy on one side in the Logic channels, and also that files counterpart reads the same. Because of this, I am under the impression that I only need to work with one of each of these L/R audio file pairs.... Am I right? Before I moved forward I thought I would ask for some experienced advice on this matter. Is there any form of conversion I should do beforehand or any other recommendations anyone may have. Hoping someone is experienced with this... I just want to start off on the right foot. Thanks for your time & Happy Holidays!
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Converting ProTools session fo...
    Hi Play, When you import the audio files which are L and R's... in Logic create two audio tracks and click-hold on the format button (circle/interlinked circle) at the very bottom of the channel strip. Set one track to L and one to R. Now place the L and R version of the audio file on the appropriate track. Hope that helps Rounik
    Reply
  • Play
    Posts: 20
    Joined: Apr 22nd, 2007, 09:52
    Re: Converting ProTools session fo...
    Thanks for your response. Actually, I posted in another forum as well, and found that Logic actually is pretty smart in regards to this. If you drag a .L file it actually looks for its counterpart .R in the same location and automatically puts them on one stereo channel as a stereo file. I tested this by removing the .R and sure enough when I added the .L file it warned me that the .R was not found. Pretty cool!
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Converting ProTools session fo...
    Hi Play! Yes, of course..! that just shows how much I work with split stereo files in Logic ;-) Thanks for sharing the solution ! Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: