macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Logic
    Logic External Instrument
    I am new to logic have been on it 4 only 2 weeks. I have an external synth (micro korg) that I would like to use with-in logic. I can only get logic to record midi data with it. I cannot get logic to play back the sounds with in the micro korg with the midi data that I have just recorded. What I have tried was I create a new software instrument and then choose external instrument. Then I select these parameters Midi Destination Midi Input notes Input , I have tested 1-4 midi channels (that was all of the options that were available to me under that parameters Volume 0db Please Help , if you know a tutorial that relates to this topic please direct me to it. Thank you everyone for your time Michael Angelo ChicagoHouseDJ.com
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Logic External Instrument
    Hi Michael Angelo & Welcome to the macProVideo forums! Basically every track type needs a sound source to... create a sound. Now, a Software Instrument track uses "virtual Instruments" as the source - basically a software based synth/instrument in Logic. Your MIDI Keyboard simply plays back the sound source which in this case is generated on your Mac. In order to use the sounds generated by your Micro Korg, you need to create an External MIDI track in Logic. Set the MIDI Channel, etc in the Inspector (column on the left). Also, check out these threads: [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/logic/logic-pro-express&id=9857&sid=#10476[/url] [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/logic/logic-pro-express&id=10465[/url] [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/logic/logic-pro-express&id=8421&sid=#8426[/url] Hope this helps - and do let us know if you need any further help! :)
  • Logic