macProVideo.com
Forums
  • SixStringsDown
    Posts: 68
    Joined: Feb 14th, 2009, 12:13
    bounce in place makes stereo file
    why?!?!!?
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: bounce in place makes stereo f...
    Was your original track a mono track?
    Reply
  • SixStringsDown
    Posts: 68
    Joined: Feb 14th, 2009, 12:13
    Re: bounce in place makes stereo f...
    Yeah mono file. No stereo plugins. I even try to change the the master to mono and it doesn't help.
    Reply
  • Hamish H
    Posts: 307
    Joined: May 4th, 2009, 02:29
    Re: bounce in place makes stereo f...
    Hi Tieg Is the track you're bouncing to a stereo track? H
    Reply
  • SixStringsDown
    Posts: 68
    Joined: Feb 14th, 2009, 12:13
    Re: bounce in place makes stereo f...
    I'm using the "bounce in place" function. It creates it's own track. The track it creates is a stereo track. This is what I'm trying to fix. I could just change the track to mono, but the audio file itself is still stereo. I can't hear a difference obviously because it was created from a mono file, but because it is treating it as a stereo track it takes twice as long to process things like "audio to score". But mainly it's just annoying.
    Reply
  • Hamish H
    Posts: 307
    Joined: May 4th, 2009, 02:29
    Re: bounce in place makes stereo f...
    Do you have "include volume/pan" automation checked? its the only thing that i can see that creates a stereo track from a true mono file.
    Reply
  • Hamish H
    Posts: 307
    Joined: May 4th, 2009, 02:29
    Re: bounce in place makes stereo f...
    BTW, I think this is because Logic assumes that if you want to embed pan data into an audio region, it better make it a stereo file first! Also when I asked before about 'bouncing to a stereo track', this is another function you can use with bounce-in-place. You create a new track, or select an existing one, select the region that you want to bounce in place then choose 'Destination: Selected Track' from the BIP menu. Its not particularly relevant to your current situation, but its handy to know and can be quite useful. You can add the region to an already existing track of your choice as part of the BIP. This avoids the hassle of creating a new track, moving the new region to the track you want it on, then deleting the extra track. Cheers Hamish
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: bounce in place makes stereo f...
    Hi Hamish, Good spot! I found the same thing too... with Volume/pan automation disabled, it does bounce in place to a mono audio file. Nice solution! Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: