macProVideo.com
Forums
  • redwing
    Posts: 7
    Joined: Jun 16th, 2007, 05:46
    mac pro vs. imac
    can anyone tell me the advantages of a mac pro vs. a high-end imac (2.8 ghz) for using Logic to record audio? how is the hardware superior? thanks
    Reply
  • Aussie
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Jul 19th, 2007, 08:24
    Re: mac pro vs. imac
    I have the same question...I posted this question on a new thread I'm currently working Logic Pro on a G5 desktop computer..thinking about buying the new iMac8 2.8 Ghz with 2 gig ram. Will this computer with its 2.8 Ghz Duo extreme handle Logic 8?
    Reply
  • Major Wimp
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Aug 26th, 2007, 10:13
    Re: mac pro vs. imac
    If the most you are going to do is use Logic then the only difference would be the extra $1200.00 you'd spend on the Mac Pro. For all intents and purposes the higher end iMac with the extreme processor will be more than enough to run Logic 8. I own a Mac Pro, MacBook Pro, MacBook and an iMac and not one of them has ever choked running an audio application. If you are going to be doing massive amounts of multi tracking in your audio application then you may want to up the amount of RAM and max it out at 4GB just to give yourself the ability to run more than one of the Logic Studio apps at a time.
    Reply
  • Aussie
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Jul 19th, 2007, 08:24
    Re: mac pro vs. imac
    This iMac would be used 99% of the time running Logic. I typically run anywhere from 15 to 20 tracts at one time by the time I have completed a project (all with compression, reverb, EQ, exciters.) Many are audio/vocal/guitar tracks and the rest are either drum loops and sequencer tracts. With all of this happening at the same time, you believe that 2GB of ram will not suffice? and that 4GB is the way to go to avoid choking. Thank you for your help and advice. I really appreciate it.
    Reply
  • Aussie
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Jul 19th, 2007, 08:24
    Re: mac pro vs. imac
    Message for Major Wimp from Aussie..apoligies to you..I accidently hit the "report post" button. If there is a way to retract this...please let me know and I will follow up immediately. Thank you.
    Reply
  • Major Wimp
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Aug 26th, 2007, 10:13
    Re: mac pro vs. imac
    No worries Aussie about the report. As a disclaimer, I'm a Final Cut Pro and Motion editor/instructor so I don't want you to think I'm an audio expert. However, I also have experience using Soundtrack. That being said, I know that using a modern Core2Duo Intel iMac with the 2.8Ghz Extreme processor will run Logic 8 with little or no problem. I only recommend the 4GB of RAM if you are a serious user who wants nothing to stand in his or her way. My Mac Pro is stacked with 8GB of RAM because even though Final Cut Pro will normally only use about 3GB of it, I need to be able to open Motion, Photoshop and Soundtrack Pro simultaneously and that's when the extra memory comes in handy. My point is that if you have 2GB installed and are working on a large multi tracked piece, you will probably be maxing out your RAM between OSX and Logic. So spend a few bucks on, at least, 1GB more of RAM to give yourself some overhead. Good luck. FYI, I just set up the new 24" iMac for a client recently and I'm very, very impressed with the machine. It's display is 2nd to none and on basic apps like iMovie and Garage Band I cannot tell the difference in performance between it and my Mac Pro. Very highly recommended. Enjoy!
    Reply
  • Aussie
    Posts: 14
    Joined: Jul 19th, 2007, 08:24
    Re: mac pro vs. imac
    Thank you again for the great info. Interesting, the iMac comes with 2 GB of ram, but, if you want to upgrade to 4 GB, there is an additional charge of $700. You would think that Apple would allow a credit for the 2GB. What would you do to keep the cost down? I agree, the 24' iMac that I saw was jaw-dropping. I have been a PC user since the days we typed in our DOS commands, I stayed away from Apple because it was uncomfortable to me...now that I have been working on this music project thru my friends' G5..no question..Apple has it over a PC. I'm sure many other PC owners will see the light and switch over. I just wish I would of bought shares in Apple when it was $6 bucks a share not too long ago :)
    Reply
  • Teacee
    Posts: 15
    Joined: Sep 22nd, 2007, 05:12
    Re: mac pro vs. imac
    Apple has also made it easy to access the memory, so I would personally buy the minimum and upgrade the memory myself, you can find it lot cheaper tham buy the memory from apple. My two cents.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Subscribe to receive an email for each new post on this thread. Please login
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: