macProVideo.com
Forums
  • llear
    Posts: 36
    Joined: Sep 14th, 2007, 03:55
    Logic 8-audio overdub
    How can I record multiple audio takes ontop of each other and not have to go to more tracks? I need to hear the previous take as I am in record to add to the track.Right now if I put it in record it will start to erase the previous take.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Logic 8-audio overdub
    Hi llear Welcome to the forums! Logic 8 and 9 automatically records your takes and places them in a Take folder... Simply set a cycle range, hit the record button and Logic will "cycle record" that section. Each take will be stored in the Take Folder on it's own Lane. Sounds like you should turn OFF replace mode and Punch on the fly as well btw. HTH Rounik
    Reply
  • llear
    Posts: 36
    Joined: Sep 14th, 2007, 03:55
    Re: Logic 8-audio overdub
    Hey Rounik, Thanks for your help.Where do I find the place in Logic to turn OFF replace mode? I use to use Cakewalk before Logic and you could record in a sound on sound mode allowing you to add and hear all the parts you are recording on top of each other.It is a great feature.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Logic 8-audio overdub
    Hi llear, I should have said: "Make sure Replace mode is off" (because it is disabled by default). This pic shows replace mode being ON. (The orange button in the Transport bar): [img]http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/720/screenshot20110129at231.png[/img] If you haven't already checked it out I'd highly recommend going through the Logic 101 tutorial here which'll get you up to speed in no time! There isn't a direct feature to enable you to hear the previous (or all takes) during recording in Logic. You could unpack the takes to their own audio tracks... but I don't see the benefit of this "sound on sound" feature... wouldn't it become rather busy while recording if you have to listen to the 10 previous takes simultaneously? Of course, you want to over dub only a section while listening back to the previous recorded part then using Options > Audio > Punch on the fly is the way to go Then turn on "Autopunch" mode (next to Replace button in the pic above - the one with two arrows ). Then drag the Red stripe in the Bar Ruler area to encompass only the section you wish to overdub. You can then hit record and play along. When the playhead reaches the beginning of the red stripe Logic will begin recording. When it reaches the end of the red stripe, Logic will stop recording, but continue playback. A Take folder will be created too (unless "Replace mode" is enabled). Hope this helps Rounik Let me know if you need any more help :) Rounik
    Reply
  • llear
    Posts: 36
    Joined: Sep 14th, 2007, 03:55
    Re: Logic 8-audio overdub
    Hi Rounik again, I certainly appreciate you help.I am a woodwind player and I am recording a piece for 4 woodwinds.When I use the auto punch it "pops"when it goes into record.The "sound on sound" feature of Cakewalk allows me to watch the wave form and punch in and continue a line with no problem. for a recording example only: I can record the note C for one bar in Cakewalk,rewind it,record another bar and play the note E on the same track and hear the C while I play the E.Logic will not allow me that.
    Reply
  • llear
    Posts: 36
    Joined: Sep 14th, 2007, 03:55
    Re: Logic 8-audio overdub
    Sound on Sound-The new material is merged with any existing material.This means that any existing clips on the track are left unchanged and all newly recorded material is stored in the new clips.While recording,you will be able to hear material from existing clips.-Sonar User`s Guide.
    Reply
  • llear
    Posts: 36
    Joined: Sep 14th, 2007, 03:55
    Re: Logic 8-audio overdub
    Thank you very much. Where are the clips stored?
    Reply
  • Bj
    Posts: 293
    Joined: Sep 19th, 2007, 01:27
    Re: Logic 8-audio overdub
    Hi llear, To get up to speed quickly on Logic, it really would be worth your time to go through the Logic 101 Tutorial... Also here's a Link to the Logic Pro Manual: http://www.apple.com/support/logicpro/ Two things Every New Logic User Needs. : - ) Cheers
    Reply
  • llear
    Posts: 36
    Joined: Sep 14th, 2007, 03:55
    Re: Logic 8-audio overdub
    Thanks so much. I setup the audio track just as you explained. I am not hearing the previous takes when recording a new take. I have used Logic and ProTools for a while and have MacPro Video tutorials and have gone thru the manual. It seems somehow if CakeWalk can do this it should be a piece of cake for Logic. If you don't mind trying to overdub several takes on the same track while hearing the previous takes I would be greatful. Thanks in advance.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Logic 8-audio overdub
    Hi llear, "clips" or audio recordings and audio files used in your project are stored in the Bin! Check out again the Take Folder section in the Logic 101. It explains it in good depth... but, basically, there isn't a similar function whereby you can record audio "sound on sound" takes in Logic, like you can in Cake walk. You can do this on MIDI tracks... but not audio. Every DAW is different and has slightly different feature sets and strengths... and AFAIK you can't do this in Pro Tools either? The only to do this is to set up multiple audio tracks and record to one. Stop. record arm the other and record to it while listening back to the first one... etc. Hope this helps Rounik
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: