macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Xetiwoa
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Jun 16th, 2008, 03:51
    Flextime Editing
    I have been away from Logic for awhile and am now new to the flextime editing feature in Logic 9.1.3. I have purchased and reviewed Logic 104 and it gives me lots of useful information. I am hoping for guidance as a jumpstart to my getting back to work. I record a singer and a guitar on an audio track. I have beat mapped the track and the tempo of the singer ranges between 130 and 150 BPM (sometimes by design and sometimes not). I add a BIAB real drum/bass audio track(s) which I have recorded at about 135 BPM and import as a bass region and a drum region on separate tracks. How do I align the BIAB perfect 135BPM to the singer irregular BPM? Can I align both the bass track and the drum track simultaneously? In essence, I want the singers irregularities to be the gird and align the perfect 135BPM track(s) to the irregular grid. It's pretty basic but I greatly appreciate any guidance to get me going again.
    Reply
  • steveH
    Posts: 857
    Joined: Oct 17th, 2006, 05:19
    Re: Flextime Editing
    Are you using Logic 9?
    Reply
  • Xetiwoa
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Jun 16th, 2008, 03:51
    Re: Flextime Editing
    I am using Logic 9.1.3 (1697.87) (32-bit)
    Reply
  • steveH
    Posts: 857
    Joined: Oct 17th, 2006, 05:19
    Re: Flextime Editing
    Open the 135 bpm region in a new project set at a tempo 135 bpm. Select the region and in the Options/Tempo menu select: Export Tempo Information to Audio File. Go to the Bin and select the audio file. And in the Bin's menu select: Audio File/Copy-Converts FIles and create a copy of the file on the desktop. Now open up your original beat mapped project and drag that audio file that's on your desktop to a NEW track. WHEN IT ASKS IF YOU WANT TO IMPORT TEMPO INFORMATION SAY NO!!!! NO!!!!!!!!! Position the region it exactly where you want it to go, then.. Go to the track inspector for the track where you placed the region and turn on Flex mode. Select the proper algorithm. It will now follow the beat mapped tempo! Good luck, Steve H
    Reply
  • Xetiwoa
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Jun 16th, 2008, 03:51
    Re: Flextime Editing
    I don't get the message ((WHEN IT ASKS IF YOU WANT TO IMPORT TEMPO INFORMATION SAY NO!!!! NO!!!!!!!!!) when I drag the audio file from my desktop to the original piece. Should I be importing or just dragging - is it the same thing?? Thanks - Lee
    Reply
  • steveH
    Posts: 857
    Joined: Oct 17th, 2006, 05:19
    Re: Flextime Editing
    If follow my directions to the letter... It'll work!
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: