macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Stringman66
    Editing iMovie tracks in Logic Express 9
    I'm pretty new to Logic Express but have been working for a little while with iMovie. Not sure to post this question under iMovie or Logic but here it goes.. I just started recording instructional videos in iMovie with a lavalier mic going into one input on my Apogee Duet and a direct out guitar signal from my amp and into the second Duet input. When recording directly in iMovie the lavalier mic is in the left channel and the guitar in the right channel. This is annoying for people listening to the lesson on an iPod or headphones. Since there doesn't appear to be a way to fix this in iMovie I tried opening the movie in Logic Express. Clicking on the mono/stereo icon below the input channel strip and output strip I can get the sound equally distributed between L and R sides when I switch it to mono. Exporting the edited movie from Logic is my real problem since when I try to export the file it's way too large. (around 2 GB!) I have a maximum file size of around 600 MB that I'm allowed to use for the videos. Any ideas on how best to edit the audio file and export? I usually use Mobile Me to share the file. Thanks in advance for any help.
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Editing iMovie tracks in Logic Express 9
    Hi Stringman66 Welcome to the MPV forums! It sounds like you've got the hang of switching track format... You can also duplicate the audio track and set the 1st track to Left and 2nd track to Right and then place a Gain plugin on both tracks. In the Gin plugin you can make each track mono and leave the Stereo Output as... stereo. Anyway, back to your question... what size is the video when you import it into Logic? What video format do you normally share your videos? I would import the corrected audio version of the video back into iMovie (or QuickTime Pro - if you have it) and then export it in the format you need to. Hope this helps Rounik
  • Stringman66