macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Ben
    Posts: 113
    Joined: Nov 13th, 2008, 11:23
    create instrument in Logic that accepts external midi
    Hey experts, Here is what I want to do: Send midi to an external application. That external app will process the midi and send out midi itself. I want to capture that midi information back in logic and us it to affect a kontakt instrument virtual instrument within Logic. Is it possible to do? If so how? Again: LOGIC External midi track -> Other app sends gets that Midi and sends out MIDI -> back in Logic that midi plays a virtual instrument
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: create instrument in Logic that accepts external midi
    (revising my post -- stay tuned)
    Reply
  • Ben
    Posts: 113
    Joined: Nov 13th, 2008, 11:23
    Re: create instrument in Logic that accepts external midi
    staying tuned, but I'm loosing it a little as time goes by
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: create instrument in Logic that accepts external midi
    Are you familiar with how to use the IAC bus? That's what you'll want to use. Send MIDI data to your external process via IAC and bring it back into Logic via IAC. Please post back and let me know if you need details on how all that works.
    Reply
  • Ben
    Posts: 113
    Joined: Nov 13th, 2008, 11:23
    Re: create instrument in Logic that accepts external midi
    Yes, that's the idea. Any virtual midi port will do, but my question is how do you bring it back to Logic and use that midi to be the input into a software instrument?
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: create instrument in Logic that accepts external midi
    Create an instrument object (Environment, New > Instrument). Assign that to the IAC port. That will become the MIDI output from Logic transmitting data to your external process. Then, back into Logic... Once you create an IAC port, it's output will appear on the Physical Input object ("PI") in the Clicks & Ports layer. The first thing you should do is dead-end it by creating a new monitor object and cabling the IAC port from the PI to the monitor. This will prevent a feedback loop from occurring in Logic. (Post back if you want details as to why that would occur). From there, cable the output of the monitor to the destination for the IAC data.
    Reply
  • Ben
    Posts: 113
    Joined: Nov 13th, 2008, 11:23
    Re: create instrument in Logic that accepts external midi
    Ski... I.. Thank you SO SO SO MUCH!!!!!! I can't believe it was that easy
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: create instrument in Logic that accepts external midi
    You're very welcome! Post back if you have any problems or add'l questions about the whole IAC thing.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: