macProVideo.com
Forums
  • daryl 72
    Posts: 35
    Joined: Aug 12th, 2010, 03:59
    I am having problems when loading samples into Logic's samp
    Hi,I have chopped up some vocal samples and tried to load them into Logic 8's EXS sampler,however whenever I try to load up more than 1 sample there are loud noises(humming etc) obscuring the sound that were not present in the original.I am chopping up the vocals using Strip Silence,going to the Audio Bin,selecting these audio regions and then converting them to new audio files.However every time I load up more than 1 sample and play them back there are loud noises on at least 1 of the samples loaded.Can you help me please.
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: I am having problems when loading samples into Logic's
    That's really unusual. With EXS, it's the sonic equivalent of WYSIWYG. There's nothing about the EXS that would alter the sound in that way. What happens if you take those samples and lay them up in the arrange page on an audio track. Do they sound OK playing back from there? If they do, then would there be any way you could make a short MP3 that exhibits the problem and post a link to it?
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: I am having problems when loading samples into Logic's
    Hi daryl, Did you manage to resolve the issue with Ski's help? If not it would be great if you could let us know how you're getting on and give us an mp3 to listen to :). Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • daryl 72
    Posts: 35
    Joined: Aug 12th, 2010, 03:59
    Re: I am having problems when loading samples into Logic's
    Hi Ski,What you suggested with laying the samples on the arrange page I 've already tried-they sounded fine.The problem has kind of been solved by putting each individual sample on a separate channel with a instance of EXS on each of them.On some of the channels this has resulted in different notes producing higher and lower pitched versions of the sample depending on what key I press.Would you still like an MP3 if the problem is still occurring when I load up multiple samples?
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: I am having problems when loading samples into Logic's
    Yes, please post an MP3. I'd be very interested to hear what's going on. After I hear it I'm hoping I can address what's going on. Best, Ski
    Reply
  • daryl 72
    Posts: 35
    Joined: Aug 12th, 2010, 03:59
    Re: I am having problems when loading samples into Logic's
    Hi Ski,sorry for the delay.Here is a MP3 of what happens when I try to load multiple samples into EXS;the first piece of audio is 1 sample,the 2nd is 3-for some reason EXS has assigned them all to 1 note:http://dl.dropbox.com/u/19340587/Multiple%20samples%20loaded%20int.mp3 I hope you can help.Thanks.Daryl
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: I am having problems when loading samples into Logic's
    Thanks for posting that. Weird!!! Especially that rumbly sound. Couple of questions for you... 1. When you assign the different samples in EXS, are you setting the low and high keys of the individual samples (zones) so that they don't overlap? So, for example, if you have 3 samples, the zone "blocks" you see in the editor should appear like this (side-by-side zones): [..sample1..] [..sample2..] [..sample3..] ...and not like this (stacked zones): [..sample1..] [..sample2..] [..sample3..] If they look like the stacked version then yes, you're going to get multiple samples playing at once. 2. What was the original source of the vocals? And what's the file format? AIFF? WAV? MP3? etc.
    Reply
  • daryl 72
    Posts: 35
    Joined: Aug 12th, 2010, 03:59
    Re: I am having problems when loading samples into Logic's
    Hi Ski,No I wasn't setting the key range so there was no overlap-but when I did there wasn't multiple samples playing at once.However when I did that I found that the 2nd sample I loaded into EXS was at a different pitch to the original,however this was solved by changing the pitch on the 'key' parameter.I'm not sure about that rumbly sound but it appears to have gone when I did what I've just detailed.As to the vocals they are 24 bit WAV files downloaded from a sample pack website.It seems that the problem's being solved, thanks to you.If I have any further problems with this issue I'll continue this thread if that's ok with you.Your help is invaluable and much appreciated-thanks.Daryl.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: