macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Hmmmmmm
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Jan 23rd, 2008, 01:31
    Akai LDP8 and Logic
    Hi All, i just purchased the Akai LDP8 Laptop Pad Controller (USB) and am having trouble getting it to work with Logic 8 (very little documentation). I am primarily a guitarist (read: midi impaired) and have used the M-Audio iControl as my Midi Interface for my Oxygen Keyboard and my Kurzweil. I have tried refreshing the Midi Inputs with no luck. I realize so many folks in this forum are super Midi savvy and was hoping for an easy solution. Akai does it is supposed to be plug n play after all : ) Thanks for any help!
    Reply
  • Dekuruy
    Posts: 148
    Joined: Nov 23rd, 2007, 07:28
    Re: Akai LDP8 and Logic
    Hi Scissorlad, Have you tried plugging the LPD8 directly into a USB port on your computer? Do any of the pads on the LPD8 light up when you play them and it is connected via USB to the computer? Do you see any MIDI data coming into Logic when you play the pads and look at the transport bar at the bottom of the Arrange page? I have used the LPD8 with Logic 8 successfully. Like you say, it's plug 'n' play. This demo video may be helpful. Try doing it the way he demonstrates. [url]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z5ulQHdJs2M[/url] hth, Adam
    Reply
  • Hmmmmmm
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Jan 23rd, 2008, 01:31
    Re: Akai LDP8 and Logic
    Hi Adam, Thanks for your response! LPD8 directly plugged into USB on MacBook. The only pad lit is the small "Pad" button on the left. I do not see MIDI data coming into Logic when I play the pads, however when I turn the knobs I see some changes in the Transport area. Additional detail: - have reset midi drivers to no avail - verified that the device is active in Applications>Utilities>Audio Midi Setup Lastly at no point thus far have the PADS illuminated are become active. Thank you for the video. I wish it was going that well on my end! best John
    Reply
  • Dekuruy
    Posts: 148
    Joined: Nov 23rd, 2007, 07:28
    Re: Akai LDP8 and Logic
    Hi John, Hmmmm.... not sure what to tell you from here. Do you have a powered hub? If so, try plugging the LPD8 into that. I have heard that some Mac laptop models can have too little power coming from the USB port, therefore requiring a powered hub to use USB devices. It's also true, however, that the LPD8 does not require much power. The fact that you're not seeing the pads light up when you hit them is also puzzling. Sorry I don't have more of a solution for you.
    Reply
  • Hmmmmmm
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Jan 23rd, 2008, 01:31
    Re: Akai LDP8 and Logic
    Thanks, Adam. I was scouring the Logic Help forums and saw what you mentioned re:MAcbooks not having enough juice on the USB ports and to supplement with a powered hub as a possible solution. Just purchased one an hour ago. Sadly no change--- but at least I have more several more USB ports now! Thanks for your suggestions! --John
    Reply
  • Dekuruy
    Posts: 148
    Joined: Nov 23rd, 2007, 07:28
    Re: Akai LDP8 and Logic
    Hi John, Sorry to hear that. Unless someone else has a different suggestion/solution, you may want to contact Akai and explain the process that you've already been through. There could be a defect in the LPD8. Let me know what happens, and if you ever get it working. Thanks, Adam P.S. Yes, you may wind up finding some nice uses for that hub. They can come in handy.
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: