macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Zonivue
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Nov 11th, 2006, 07:06
    Create new track in Cycle Mode - For Audio not midi
    Hi Guys, I've not posted on this forum before, so thanks in advance for your time and help. I'm trying to do something I remember could be done in Logic Pro 7 (which is the last time i did it), but I can' seem to find it in Logic pro 9 The feature was called something like "Create New Track in Cycle mode". Principally I'm trying to create Harmony parts. So once the audio is recorded on TRACK 1 (for example), the playhead returns to the beginning of the Cycle region, creates a NEW track (and doesn't mute) the newly-created audio TRACK 1 This 2nd new audio is recorded onto TRACK 2, so on and so forth. (so you can play along to it, and create a harmonies). hope that explanations isn't over complicating what i'm trying to achieve? Apologies if so. I can only seem to find this feature under the Preferences>Record> "MIDI record" features, but not under the Audio? Can this still be done in Logic Pro 9? or can you only do audio take folders? (which in principle mutes the previously recorded audio to then be Comped) I really just want to create harmonies, by hearing back the last line recorded etc. Any help greatly appreciated, thanks again in advance for your time and time. Ket
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Create new track in Cycle Mode - For Audio not midi
    Hi Ket, Welcome to the forums. Logic's not really designed to do this easily - especially considering the way that Take Folders work. Out of interest what is your setup? Do you have an audio interface with multiple inputs. Are you using a Mixer? Could you route one mic into a two or more inputs? Perhaps there is a way to do this in the Environment... I'll have to put my Environment cap on and start a thinkin... Ski, if you're reading this... I need a bigger "hat" ;-) Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Zonivue
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Nov 11th, 2006, 07:06
    Re: Create new track in Cycle Mode - For Audio not midi
    Hey Rounik, Thanks so much for replying. I was sure that this was the case when logic used to record in "cycle Mode" back in Logic 7. The only reason I ever even new about it, was a friend bought me the Mac Pro Video, logic pro 7 tutorials as a present when I first started using logic, which Martin had done, and in that he had a video about "recording in cycle mode" and it did exactly as I'd tried to describe? I think the only work around is, well, the long way around it. Make 5 tracks with the same inputs etc. Record the 1st harmony part, press Stop, then go to the next track, record-arm that... (so track 1 is then playing) and record the 2nd harmony etc etc. a longer way around it, but it'll definitely work. Well any help is appreciated, and hear from you soon. Ket
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Create new track in Cycle Mode - For Audio not midi
    There's gotta be an easier way to do this in real-time without stopping Logic's transport... although having said that, I think the way to set this up, if at all possible, would be far from easy in Logic's Environment. Do you have a MIDI Controller - which you could use to select next track and toggle record it? :)
    Reply
  • Zonivue
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Nov 11th, 2006, 07:06
    Re: Create new track in Cycle Mode - For Audio not midi
    Hi, I could use my apple remote, I think it has Next track selection? it definitely works with starting and stopping recording? shame that I can't find that functionality, Odd that they have it in the Preferences>Record> then the drop-down under the midi section, seems to have exactly what i'm looking for, but this doesn't work for Audio tracks!?? Quite annoying. Cheers Ket
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: Create new track in Cycle Mode - For Audio not midi
    Just reading this post now. This feature was never available in Logic for recording audio, only MIDI. Here's the deal... When you set up Logic to create new tracks in cycle mode, what it's doing is creating new tracks pointed to the same MIDI instrument or instrument channel. So... track 1 --> instrument X track 2 --> instrument X track 3 --> instrument X ...and the reason you can hear all of the different passes back at once is because the MIDI data from all of those tracks are being [i]merged[/i] together and funneled to the one instrument. With audio, a track can only play one region at a time. IOW, you can't "stack" multiple regions on an audio track and get them all to play back. So the only way to stack harmonies the way you'd want is to: 1) set up a bunch of audio tracks, all set to the same input 2) record your first pass 3) briefly stop Logic and click on the (R) button of the second track 4) go into record and lay down your second harmony 5) repeat steps 3 and 4
    Reply
  • Zonivue
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Nov 11th, 2006, 07:06
    Re: Create new track in Cycle Mode - For Audio not midi
    Hey Ski, thanks for getting back to me, I must have been confusing and (mis-remembering) and recording with midi in the past. Anyhows, as it turns out, in the end I did exactly what you suggested - as that was the only work around I could think off. It worked, so that's a good result. Thanks for taking the time to reply. Best regards Ket :) ps: you can hear the last track at www.mypetshadow.bandcamp.com it's called high places I recorded the backing harmonies this way.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Create new track in Cycle Mode - For Audio not midi
    Nice one Ski! I tried some really weird experimental things to see if I could make this work the way you wanted it to Ket... but came to the same conclusion as Ski. :)
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: