macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Gorynui
    Posts: 203
    Joined: Oct 21st, 2007, 08:27
    Ghosts with Melodyne
    Just thought I'd mention this oddity I happened upon last night while working in Logic, using Melodyne on a couple of tracks. I was ready to bounce the project, and played it back one final time before doing so, when I heard my own voice, giving directions to the singer on one of her vocal tracks. This was mysterious, as it occurred at the very end of the project, where there were no regions. I triple checked each region near there, soloing each, checked my hidden tracks and finally figured out what track the ghost voice came from, and it was one with Melodyne. Even though the region itself was cut short of these extra spoken words, since Melodyne was active on that track, it kept playing. It was late and I was incredibly tired when I discovered this, so I spun my wheels for an hour before thinking to open that instance of Melodyne. I saw visual proof of the words, and deleted them in the plug-in. Voila! This led me to check every track in another project for similar things happening, and realized that I had to automate Melodyne on and off to avoid similar unwanted (but region-wise invisible) audio.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Ghosts with Melodyne
    Nice tip and thanks for sharing Sammy! I don't use Melodyne - but when I get round to it I'll bear this in mind. Cheers Rounik
    Reply
  • Rohogay
    Posts: 185
    Joined: Oct 26th, 2009, 07:08
    Re: Ghosts with Melodyne
    So when you saw the note in Melodyne, Couldn't you simply mute them and shut them off?
    Reply
  • Gorynui
    Posts: 203
    Joined: Oct 21st, 2007, 08:27
    Re: Ghosts with Melodyne
    Well there you go - I didn't realize that was an option! I'll have to look for that in the menus.
    Reply
  • Rohogay
    Posts: 185
    Joined: Oct 26th, 2009, 07:08
    Re: Ghosts with Melodyne
    Pretty sure if you're using the amplitude tool, you simply double click. Lasso all the notes you wish to mute and double click. Should knock them out. You can also set up a key command in preferences just incase you run into this more and would like to simplify things. Feel free to ask me for help : >)
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: