macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Xidehoy
    Posts: 172
    Joined: Aug 16th, 2007, 09:08
    Beat Mapping - how?
    Will someone share their wisdom on beat mapping. I have played with this thing for a while and RTFM (pgs 655-660) and I just don't get it. I'm probably suffering brainius flatuoso..butt it just isn't sinking in. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Shaun
    Reply
  • Xidehoy
    Posts: 172
    Joined: Aug 16th, 2007, 09:08
    Re: Beat Mapping - how?
    Hey J-F. I'm remixing an existing project consisting of audio files and am trying to sync up with a couple of rhythm tracks. The notes on the track sheets say the tracks were cut at 100 bpm, but that's clearly a guesstimate. I guess my goal is to beat map the project so that when I drop a loop in, it will sound correct playing with the live rhythm tracks. It's probably just my ignorance as to how beat mapping really works in logic. Shaun
    Reply
  • Xidehoy
    Posts: 172
    Joined: Aug 16th, 2007, 09:08
    Re: Beat Mapping - how?
    Thanks very much for taking the time to document this, J-F! I have tried again and am still stalling. I'm going to give it another go today and see what happens. I need confirmation on one principle - Logic adjusts it's own tempo from this process, it doesn't adjust the audio file, correct? Cheers, Shaun
    Reply
  • Xidehoy
    Posts: 172
    Joined: Aug 16th, 2007, 09:08
    Re: Beat Mapping - how?
    We should coalesce our thread and email it to the tech pubs group at Apple! Well, it worked...some thoughts : - it's important, once the region is analysed, to play with the sensitivity number to display an appropriate amount of transient spikes. For the longest time, there were none showing on my map rendering until I tweaked the sensitivity to about 30...that was worth 3 hours :( - I could be wrong, but you don't have to re-analyse the audio region each time the sensitivity option is changed. The reason I say this is I analysed at '0' sensitivity and got the same # of available transients as I did when I scanned at '99'. Odd. - my other epiphany was clicking and holding for _long enough_ on the bar indicator (your 'stalactite'). Once I held for long enough, the proper yellow line line appeared,then ,that darker yellow line showed up and I could select my transient. So, done and done :) I have to figure out a way to zoom in on the beat map image. It would be helpful to have a 'magnify' option there. I think that's 2 beer I owe you J-F. Shaun
    Reply
  • Xidehoy
    Posts: 172
    Joined: Aug 16th, 2007, 09:08
    Re: Beat Mapping - how?
    >> Comments inserted I'd like to know: what material did you use as your audio to be analyzed? >> The acoustic guitar player was the most stable of the lot (no percussion per se) so I focused on syncing up to his downbeats. There's a bit of artistry in not mangling the temp to-to much. I've played it back a few times and there are no blips in the other tracks which was a relief. I was especially concerned about the vocals, but so far so good. Logic is really a great tool. About zooming: >> I use my mighty mouse wheel for panning, Option-[wheel] for horizontal/vertical compression/expansion of the clip and arrange page and the mac os magnifying with ctrl-[wheel]. It worked pretty well. So, well done, sir! Now, on to the next thing... >> Thanks J-F. I'm sure there are more questions just around the corner ! J-F P.S. Is anyone else learning a bit from this thread...? ; - )
    Reply
  • Lord Scrotum
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Jul 27th, 2006, 12:22
    Re: Beat Mapping - how?
    Hey J-F, I for one have certainly learned a lot from this thread. Thanks for all the effort you've put in. I'd previously given up on Beat Mapping, but now feel inspired to slog through it. It should be a fantastic tool for people like me who record and play instruments sometimes a little too "rubato". I now just need to make friends with the technology. Maybe Beat Mapping would be good material for a TnT video? Cheers Lord Scrotum Just spend 10 minutes working through it - it's really easy and perfect for a song I'm working on! Thanks guys. My only question is: in the thread it's suggested that the sensitivity can be set numerically. However, on my BM ruler there are only 3 options - high, medium and low sensitivity. Am I missing something? Thanks again - I can finally put the grid to good use and save myself hours of searching around. Scrotum
    Reply
  • Xidehoy
    Posts: 172
    Joined: Aug 16th, 2007, 09:08
    Re: Beat Mapping - how?
    LS : Based on JF's assistance I created the doc below for another dude. http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/10/8/1493685/BeatMapping.doc Shaun
    Reply
  • Lord Scrotum
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Jul 27th, 2006, 12:22
    Re: Beat Mapping - how?
    Thanks a lot, Shaun. That's a great help. All the best Lord Scrotum
    Reply
  • Xidehoy
    Posts: 172
    Joined: Aug 16th, 2007, 09:08
    Re: Beat Mapping - how?
    I'd be happy to post it - is there somewhere here at MPV? I should update it with information on using markers to beatmap, but haven't done it myself yet... I also have docs I wrote on rewiring EZPlayer to Drumcore and setting up Aux's and am happy to share any of them ....buuuuttt.. my baby is in the shop for repairs. One of the memory slots went dead and it's $1000 to fix. Mon Dieu. Thank g*d for Apple Care. Shaun
    Reply
  • Illogical Instrumentor
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Oct 6th, 2007, 09:40
    Re: Beat Mapping - how?
    Very informative thread here..... Thanks guys!!
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: