macProVideo.com
Forums
  • MorryNYC
    Posts: 229
    Joined: Nov 7th, 2008, 06:22
    Prokit Update
    Hello, all I notice by checking the "software updater" that there's a new Prokit updater available. Any word on if it's a good thing? I have heard that 10.6.7 isn't a very good system update and should probably be skipped, and was wondering if that reflects badly on the Prokit update as well.
    Reply
  • redlogic
    Posts: 65
    Joined: Feb 2nd, 2008, 03:43
    Re: Prokit Update
    10.6.7 with Logic 9.1.3 running fine here. I haven't done the new Prokit update yet.
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: Prokit Update
    FWIW, I'm not a huge fan of updating once I've achieved a stable, working system. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it".
    Reply
  • MorryNYC
    Posts: 229
    Joined: Nov 7th, 2008, 06:22
    Re: Prokit Update
    Thanks Ski, appreciate the input, and this validates what I've been told by others as well. So how long after an update has been released do you go ahead and take the "plunge?" I mean, eventually you HAVE to update, don't you, to be able to take advantage of new features? I was kind of hesitant to move from 10.5.8, as it seemed very stable to me, but then moved to 10.6.6 to take advantage of 64-bit mode. And though I love the 64-bit thing, the system felt better on 10.5.8. And STILL waiting for WAVES to come out with their 64-bit versions. Last I asked, it was supposed to become available in Jan of 2011... oh well.
    Reply
  • MorryNYC
    Posts: 229
    Joined: Nov 7th, 2008, 06:22
    Re: Prokit Update
    Thanks for the input, redlogic. Good to know.
    Reply
  • Peter Schwartz
    Posts: 545
    Joined: Sep 15th, 2007, 06:04
    Re: Prokit Update
    Couple of criteria: 1) when a software update's documentation specifically mentions a fix for a known issue that I've experienced myself (whether it's an OSX update or a plugin update) 2) regarding the above, rarely does documentation accompanying updates offer a complete picture of all fixes/improvements. But if I read enough forum posts, articles, or other reports (which I trust) saying that such-and-such an update fixes certain problems that I've been experiencing, I'll update. 3) "when I'm forced to", to run software or a plugin that won't run on an earlier version of software And all of the above has to be tempered with an understanding that updating to make something work (or work better) might end up breaking something else. As you can tell, I try to be extremely cautious because stability is, to me, the most important thing in a computer system.
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Prokit Update
    I agree with Ski.... mostly.... Sometimes there's a plugin or feature that looks tasty and requires the latest *insert software name here* update... What I do in circumstance like these is either: 1. Completely clone my system drive (i do this often regardless actually) or 2. Create a test system drive on an external hard disk... and then install the updates on to this "test or clone" system. Then go ahead and test the new update/version. Sometimes reading forum posts on other's experiences can be misleading -- even if they are by those who are trust worthy -- because their system might differ from yours in terms of hardware, drivers, other software, etc, etc. Generally, from my experience, I've not found ProKit updates have caused me any issues in the past... but always backup before installing an update and if you like try out a combination of Ski's suggestions and one of the two pointers I've suggested. :)
    Reply
  • MorryNYC
    Posts: 229
    Joined: Nov 7th, 2008, 06:22
    Re: Prokit Update
    I gotta tell you, although I enjoy the extra power I get with 64 bit mode, I had far fewer crashes and unexpected behaviors running Logic on 10.5.8 in 32 bit mode. To create that clone system, guessing I can just go into Time Machine and clone it out from there, correct?
    Reply
  • Rounik Admin
    Posts: 8713
    Joined: Dec 16th, 2006, 08:13
    Re: Prokit Update
    Interesting... I actually have the opposite experience... 10.6.7 and Logic 9.1.3 (in 64-bit and 32 bit) mode is generally more stable for me than the previous version on 10.5.8... although I do occasionally get issues with 32bit Audio Unit Bridge with some 3rd party plugins. I like using Carbon Copy Cloner (free) to clone my system drive. Others love using Time Machine. Both are cool! :)
    Reply
  • MorryNYC
    Posts: 229
    Joined: Nov 7th, 2008, 06:22
    Re: Prokit Update
    hmmm. perhaps I should move to 10.6.7
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: