macProVideo.com
Forums
  • TrackHead
    Drum samples distorting sound
    I may get hammered for this question but I need help. The drum sample I am using is clashing with the rest of the tracks distorting the sounds. How can I fix this. It's sort of like an 808 sound, and it's conflicting with the session bass and other sounds. I'm a newbie that this and I really need some help. Thanks.
  • Hamish H
    Re: Drum samples distorting sound
    Hey Trackhead Nope, there's no getting hammered here! All questions welcome :) Like these ones to you: what sort of drum is it? Kick or snare? And how is it distorting the sounds? Are you finding that you have to turn it up to make it heard over the bass, which then makes it too loud? Or does it clash some other way, like just sound really muddy, or out of tune, or just crap? Are you totally attached to this sample? OK thats questions out of the way (for now), now here's some things you can try If the drum is a kick, lo cut EQ every other track except for bass at around 200Hz. I'm guessing you're making dance music if you're using an 808 so you should keep the bottom 200Hz totally clear for just kick and bass. Next, choose which one out of the two (kick or bass) you want to carry the deep deep frequencies. Its usually the kick. So try to lo cut a little of the bass to clear up the boominess down there. You'd be surprised how much you can cut to clear up the sounds. Does this make a difference to the kick? There are some other EQ tricks and compression tricks too (both Olav and Nigel Broad have good tips in their Logic tutorials), but see how you go with these ones for starters. And write back, all questions are good questions! Cheers Hamish
  • TrackHead
    Hi Harnish. Thanks a lot but it didn't seem to clear the sound up when I low cut the other tracks. The kick is still muffling everything, and sounds really clashy, and staticky. The sound that's causing the issue is the FAT KICK from the Hip Hop Sly Kit in Ultra Beat.