macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Vivisuy
    Painless Upgrade
    I just upgraded to Logic 9 and it went real smooth. There is a difference. When I "create empty project" with "software instrument" selected, it default installs the EVP88 channel strip setting. This was not the case in logic 8 (or maybe I deleted this channel strip setting way back when I first upgraded to 8 and didn't realize it). Anyway..I don't want this to happen. I want an empty track with an empty channel strip setting. Is this normal or is this a bug? Also, I have been having an issue with East West Pianos. I noticed something strange today. After I installed Logic 9 I went and loaded a big piano patch in east west pianos. The hit to my ram was approx. 500-600 Mbs. I pulled up the activity monitor and noticed that the EW Play memory server used up another 200 Mbs. I started playing some high note content piano and it worked like a dream......at first. Then after playing for about five minutes I started getting real bad pops in the audio. I launched the activity monitor and the system memory was almost completely used up. And almost all of the memory was allocated to "inactive" memory. It was about 4.5 Gbs!!!. I only Had 18 Mbs of system memory left (out of 6 Gbs)!!!! All of this memory got used up simply by playing the East West Piano.. What is inactive memory and why does it take away available memory? anybody know? Logic 9 in 32 bit mode. Rob
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Painless Upgrade
    Hi Rob, By default now, when creating a new Software Instrument track in Logic 9.1 an EVP88 is inserted on that track :( There are a number of ways to disable it... One way is to simply untick "Open Library" in the New Tracks dialog box. As for the memory issue... try downloading the latest updates for EW and launching Logic in 64-bit mode. :)
  • Vivisuy